PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] HP DV67XX Atheros 5007eg wireless solution in Hardy!

Vegetarianrage
April 28th, 2008, 01:02 AM
I FINALLY GOT THIS TRASH TO WORK! :KS:KS

I'm running Hardy Heron 8.04 LTS on a HP DV6700 series laptop with the Atheros 5007eg wireless card.

I, myself, am a complete noob, so I'm writing this for other noobs. This is EXACTLY what I did step by step. Change things at your own risk!

Download http://snapshots.madwifi.org/special/madwifi-nr-r3366+ar5007.tar.gz (http://snapshots.madwifi.org/special/madwifi-nr-r3366+ar5007.tar.gz) to the desktop.

Open a terminal and execute the following. I know you shouldn't blindly run terminal commands but seeing as I don't know what most of this means myself, I can assure you there is nothing intentionally malicious in it. :D

Make sure there are no current madwifi drivers running.

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install build-essential
cd ~/Desktop/
tar -xf madwifi-nr-r3366+ar5007.tar.gz
cd madwifi-nr-r3366+ar5007
make
sudo unload
sudo make install

Now restart and pray! Make sure your hardware kill switch is in the on position.

NOTE: THE WIRELESS LIGHT WILL REMAIN RED EVEN IF THE DRIVER WORKS.
Make sure there are no current madwifi drivers running. (I think that's what the "unload" command does but I really don't know.)

Nitewalker
April 28th, 2008, 03:25 AM
Thanks, don't know what you came up with but got me up and running for now. I have an Acer 5100 with an Atheros AR2413 card, and I followed your post and it brought it up and running....thanks for the post

eddywashere
April 28th, 2008, 07:25 PM
I FINALLY GOT THIS TRASH TO WORK! :KS:KS

I'm running Hardy Heron 8.04 LTS on a HP DV6700 series laptop with the Atheros 5007eg wireless card.

I, myself, am a complete noob, so I'm writing this for other noobs. This is EXACTLY what I did step by step. Change things at your own risk!