PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] rename mounted volume

jamaas
April 26th, 2008, 10:14 AM
I just upgraded to 8.04 from 7.10 and it found my M$ partition and mounts it but I can not change the name of the volume on my desktop, no "rename" on the left-click list, and can not change it when I go to properties. Have I missed something or is this a little bug? Also after the upgrade, my network drives have disappeared, would be nice to get them back. Relative noob here, thanks for any/suggestions.

Jim

sicofante
April 27th, 2008, 01:36 AM
Well, this is some design failure (again... :-(). It makes "some" sense that mounted volumes cannot be renamed by non-root users, and you're not a root user by default in Ubuntu so your mounted drives showing up in your desktop have their "Rename..." right-clic menu entry greyed out.

But you can run gksu nautilus from a terminal or Alt-F2 to gain root privileges, go to "Computer", right clic on the volume you want to rename and voila, the "Rename..." menu entry is right there in pure black on white.

But don't get too excited. Trying to do so will show you an error message (see attached picture), no matter if you unmount the volume first or not.

For now, changing a volume's name takes some knowledge about the partition's type, then using the right tool, as explained here:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RenameUSBDrive

(EDIT: And don't forget to restart your computer after you do this. No, Ctrl+Alt+Backspace won't do.)

Really, Nautilus should do just that when you select "Rename..." from the right-clic menu. I just don't get why there's an option that will yield the same error in every circumstance, with an error message not saying anything useful to mere mortals.

I suppose it's time for a bug report... :-(

jamaas
April 27th, 2008, 12:03 PM
That worked ... but a bit convoluted! Thanks a bunch.

Jim

sicofante
April 27th, 2008, 05:01 PM
You're welcome. It seems this bug is an old one. I've tried to revive it here