PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't Connect to wireless network :S

JULEZAH
April 26th, 2008, 04:18 AM
Ok, i'm new to the linux world, and i just got my Netgear WG 311v3 wireless card working, via ndiswrapper.

The problem is this:
I can see the wireless network i want to connect to.
I click connect, change the type to TKIP (this is WPA Personal, btw) and then put in the password.
It seems to do something for a minute or so, then i get the input password screen again :S

I don't know what other information to give, so just ask :D

Any ideas ?

ajmorris
April 26th, 2008, 04:27 AM
It asking for the password again usually means the password is incorrect. If you are certain you are typing it correctly, consider changing the password in the router.

AJ

JULEZAH
April 26th, 2008, 04:43 AM
I'm sure the password is right.

Whenever i put the password in, the dialogue box appears again.

I NEED HELP!

HunterThomson
April 26th, 2008, 04:46 AM
Have you looked into other drivers available? Maybe try v2... after reading what has changed.... I think I remember reading about a driver wrapper other then ndiswrapper. Maybe, try that....

JULEZAH
April 26th, 2008, 04:54 AM
mmm well i've got the v3 version of the card, which sucks basically.
They changed the chipset to Marvel, so you have to use ndiswrapper.

hmmm....

tricky stuff.

HunterThomson
April 26th, 2008, 04:58 AM
I'll spend some time right now looking and report back...

Are you using 64bit or 32bit?

JULEZAH
April 26th, 2008, 05:02 AM
oooo thanks !

32-bit.

HunterThomson
April 26th, 2008, 05:07 AM
Cool, give me a sec... hopfuly we will be able to put it into Monitor mode and do Packet injection too:)

Also, try and change the password on your router gust to cover your bases and use WPA not WPA2 or vice versa. And try a different encryption like AES or why not use WEP? I know it is week but it will still stop people from randomly using your AP.

HunterThomson
April 26th, 2008, 05:12 AM