PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Iso?

Ahunt
April 24th, 2008, 10:50 PM
I have been on Ubuntu for a year, but I am certainly feeling like a total beginner today.

I went from Ubuntu 7.4 to 7.10 via the upgrade process. That was very easy - one click and it was done.

To move to 8.4 I thought I would do a fresh install. So I downloaded the .iso and then burned it onto a CD-R. My Ubuntu PC is set to boot to CD first on start-up. So I booted to it and nothing happened - it just checked the CD and then installed 7.10 as per normal from the hard disc. I tried booting to the CD on my alternate (Windows XP) PC and the same thing happened - no installer came up. Clicking on the .iso file achieves nothing also.

I know that I am probably doing something very basic wrong here. What?

C!oud
April 24th, 2008, 10:52 PM
1.did you check the CD for defects?
2. did you try the alternate installer?

swoll1980
April 24th, 2008, 10:53 PM
right click it(the iso file) then click burn to disk you have to burn it as a iso image not info. The right click thing does this automatically

Mazza558
April 24th, 2008, 10:54 PM
Did you use an ISO burner (e.g "burn to disk" on Ubuntu) or did you just copy the file to CD?

Ahunt
April 24th, 2008, 11:03 PM
Actually I downloaded it on Windows XP and burned it to CD there (Ubuntu PC was in use, of course) as a straight .iso file.

I have the .iso file, so I can re-burn it if need be.

Mazza558
April 24th, 2008, 11:07 PM
Actually I downloaded it on Windows XP and burned it to CD there (Ubuntu PC was in use, of course) as a straight .iso file.

I have the .iso file, so I can re-burn it if need be.

There's your problem.

Download ISO Recorder for Windows (it's just a small freeware program).

http://isorecorder.alexfeinman.com/download/ISORecorderV2RC1.msi

Click on your ISO file and choose it to be burnt at as low a speed as possible.

Ahunt
April 24th, 2008, 11:32 PM
Thanks for that info.