PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] hardy sound issue



denver38
April 24th, 2008, 10:22 PM
hey
I just upgraded to hardy, and the first that I noticed was that there was no sound. So I went to System settings and enabled 'the sound system'. Atm I do have sound, but it's only very silent. When I play a song with amarok/mplayer I can adjust the volume a bit with the volume-bar. But changing the volume with Kmix has absolutely no effect :s

thanks in advance

swoll1980
April 24th, 2008, 11:24 PM
could try to change the audio output in amarok to pulse.Maybe?

denver38
April 25th, 2008, 08:57 AM
thanks for your response

I installed and configured pulseaudio using this manual:
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/PulseAudio
however, when I highlighted
pulse, pulse-access and pulse-rt in 'manage groups' in order to be able to have access to sound, amarok gave this error message:
xine was unable to initialise any audio drivers
and there was no sound at all.
When I deselected it I was able to hear (a little) sound again.
are you sure pulseaudio is also something for kubuntu?

Xiong Chiamiov
April 25th, 2008, 09:10 AM
Try running alsamixer (in the terminal, you may have to apt-get install it first), and make sure your levels are turned up at least somewhat.

denver38
April 26th, 2008, 07:15 PM
hmm that's not even in the repos
I think I have to change something like a configuration option...

BSAB_80
April 27th, 2008, 01:43 AM
I have a similar problem.

I can get sound fine and change the volume with, say, Amarok or Youtube's volume controls, but Kmix just doesn't work, if i try to change the volume as i always did before the upgrade, nothing happens.

I purged kmix and reinstalled, but no luck,

fabiomb
April 27th, 2008, 07:47 AM
xine doesn't works for me, no problem with gstreamer, mplayer and vlc

denver38
April 27th, 2008, 11:13 AM
I have a similar problem.

I can get sound fine and change the volume with, say, Amarok or Youtube's volume controls, but Kmix just doesn't work, if i try to change the volume as i always did before the upgrade, nothing happens.

I purged kmix and reinstalled, but no luck,

if you manage to fix your problem, please post the solution in this thread
tnx

Eisenwinter
April 27th, 2008, 11:22 AM
Open up terminal, and type asoundconf list, post the output here.

BSAB_80
April 27th, 2008, 12:50 PM
Open up terminal, and type asoundconf list, post the output here.

Dunno if that was for me or for one of the other fellas.
As for me:


asoundconf list
Names of available sound cards:
Intel

denver38
April 27th, 2008, 01:22 PM
Open up terminal, and type asoundconf list, post the output here.

I have the same output as BSAB_80

cornelis spronk
April 30th, 2008, 05:25 PM
Names of available sound cards:
SI7018
UART
CS46xx

I am having no success in changing the sound levels of mplayer. Mplayer automatically is chosen as the player for BBC radio.

The master volume (next to the date) has no effect.

Also some sound sources cannot be hear at all It appears that ALSA has no effect. I am puzzled. Any tips would be appreciated.

mormor
April 30th, 2008, 08:08 PM
nvm this post:P mistook this for another problem, to tired I guess. but atleast it has to do with sound and alsa: )


Originally Posted by Joshua Netterfield View Post
The best way I have found to fix this problem is just to run alsaconf. Ubuntu doesn't include it, because it has a way cooler system which always works except for when it doesn't. Nice. We will need to install it ourselves.

1. Open up a terminal. (Applications->Accessories->Terminal)
2. Type "gedit ./alsaconf.sh" (without the quotes)
3. Go to http://www.schugy.de/forenlinks/alsaconf, select everything (ctrl+a) and copy it (ctrl+c)
4. Go to the gedit window. Paste what you copied (ctrl+v)
5. Save it.
6. Go back to the terminal and run:
Code:

chmod +x ./alsaconf.sh
sudo ./alsaconf.sh

7. Follow the instructions
8. It should work. But it still might not...


"Chmod +x" makes the program runnable, and "sudo ./alsaconf.sh" runs it.
The script detects the sound cards that you have and gets them ready for use.

Good luck!

Edit: Oh ya. Source is http://www.ubuntux.org/sound-card-not-detected . You should thank them if it works (;

try it? worked on my travelmate.

denver38
May 2nd, 2008, 08:49 PM
A simple "sudo /etc/init.d/alsa-utils reset" did the job for me.
(http://kubasik.net/blog/2008/03/31/sound-problems-in-ubuntu-hardy/)

Kannon
June 2nd, 2008, 05:14 PM
A simple "sudo /etc/init.d/alsa-utils reset" did the job for me.
(http://kubasik.net/blog/2008/03/31/sound-problems-in-ubuntu-hardy/)

This fixed another problem I was having with xine and amaroK after installing pulseaudio. Nothing through the xine engine had any audio, and now it all works fine, and that's the only thing I changed. (Note, that you have to change the output plugin under "Configure Amarok" > "Engines" to "autodetect" then it works fine.)

abn91c
June 2nd, 2008, 05:44 PM
did you make sure in Kmix the PCM slider is up and the radio button is green?