PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Driving me crazy... Monitor Issue



TechDragon
April 24th, 2008, 09:19 PM
IBM t60 ati integrated x1300 proprietary driver installed and in use

Desktop "visuals" turned off

ubuntu 8.04 installed, updated, 4\24\08

Using "screens and graphics" tool to set up my dual monitors which are hooked to my docking station, this works flawlessly in 7.10 but in 8.04 when I lock the screen only one screen goes black the other stays active and when I wiggle the mouse or tap a key the unlock dialog box never comes back and the black screen stays black requiring a forced reboot.

Screensaver does the exact same thing and when I try to turn off screen saver, I receive an empty dialog box that I have to force quit.


This was not an issue in 7.10 and now it is, I believe it has to do with the ATI drivers. I have installed the system allowing Ubuntu to automatically install the prop drivers, I have also reinstalled the entire system and used ENVY to install the drivers. If I remove the ATI drivers the problem goes away but then again so does all of the performance. As I stated this is an issue with 8.04 it worked just fine in 7.10.

I have been trying to find a fix for this since back in the early beta days and have never received an answer.

HELP please

spiderbatdad
April 24th, 2008, 09:21 PM
launchpad is a really good resource for this kind of support.

TechDragon
April 25th, 2008, 02:00 PM
I have posted with launchpad, no response

I would not think this an odd setup. I am the head of our local IT branch of an insurance corporation. My branch only has about 500 people. However some of the other branches scale up to over 5000. Out of my 500 employees about 200 of them have the same set up. IBM laptop connected to a dock with dual monitors. The monitors are Dell lcd's I believe fp1909's I have set up ubuntu with both generic, and specific monitors defined. Nothing helps. I could always revert back to 7.10 but I am really wanting to use the LTS version especially, if I am going to try and offer to employees.

TechDragon
April 28th, 2008, 08:45 PM
only solution I found was to revert to 7.10

launchpad question 30657