PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Small Resolution

Wotcher
April 24th, 2008, 06:39 PM
I'm tired of the small screen resolution that I have while using Ubuntu. The largest I have available to me is 1024x768. My screen is capable of going higher than that since I also use this screen for Windows XP.

How do I get it to go higher? The other day I found a thread on this issue, but I didn't really understand it (newbie here!) and now I can't find it. So, please, if anyone would like to help me fix this, please reoly. Thanks! :)

Wotcher

overdrank
April 24th, 2008, 06:42 PM
I'm tired of the small screen resolution that I have while using Ubuntu. The largest I have available to me is 1024x768. My screen is capable of going higher than that since I also use this screen for Windows XP.

How do I get it to go higher? The other day I found a thread on this issue, but I didn't really understand it (newbie here!) and now I can't find it. So, please, if anyone would like to help me fix this, please reoly. Thanks! :)

Wotcher

Ok what version of Ubuntu are you using, Feisty, Gusty, Hardy? What is the model of your graphics card?

billgoldberg
April 24th, 2008, 06:43 PM

Wotcher

Either install your graphics card using "restricted drivers" in "system -> administration" or add some resolutions in your xorg.conf file.

I believe hardy has a gui tool for that, not in gutsy.

Wotcher
April 24th, 2008, 06:49 PM
Ok what version of Ubuntu are you using, Feisty, Gusty, Hardy? What is the model of your graphics card?

Hi, I'm using Gutsty. I went to System > Administration > Screens and Graphics. And it says that my Graphic card is "Intel 845."

Wotcher
April 24th, 2008, 06:52 PM
Either install your graphics card using "restricted drivers" in "system -> administration" or add some resolutions in your xorg.conf file.

I believe hardy has a gui tool for that, not in gutsy.

I tried going to the restricted drivers and it says that I don't have any hardware that needs restricted drivers.