PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Moving From Dark Side To Ubuntu, What Do I need?...

Foghornleghorn
April 24th, 2008, 05:15 PM
I've been a Windows XP user for years,but would like to move over to Linux.Heard great things about Ubuntu and i think now is the right time to switch.
How difficult is't to have Ubuntu running alongside Windows xp?
With this version do i need to Partition my Harddrive for the installation of Ubuntu?
Remember i'm a complete Noob to Ubuntu so please try to make your replies as simple as possible.
Thanks very much.
regards,
Foghornheglorn.

overdrank
April 24th, 2008, 05:23 PM
I've been a Windows XP user for years,but would like to move over to Linux.Heard great things about Ubuntu and i think now is the right time to switch.
With this version do i need to Partition my Harddrive for the installation of Ubuntu?
Remember i'm a complete Noob to Ubuntu so please try to make your replies as simple as possible.
Thanks very much.
regards,
Foghornheglorn.

Hi and welcome, here is a good link to get you started
http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/installing

indytim
April 24th, 2008, 05:24 PM
To keep it short and (hopefully) sweet..

1. Yes you can co-exist with a variation of Windows. Users do it all of the time. In fact it is recommended for new users just starting out.
2. You do not necessarily have to pre-partition before installing Linux. My personal preference is to do it as it reduces the likelihood of oh my gosh... what did I just do to my entire h/d.

You will finds loads of resources within the forums and the WIKIs. Try doing simple searches by topic before posting.

Hopefully we'll see you from your new Linux installation soon.

IndyTim

mikewhatever

-- With a little patience and determination, it should be quite easy. That said, keep your mind open and expectations low. Try it from the Live CD first.

-- Yes. In this respect, Hardy is no different from the rest.