PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can Ubuntu read U3 USB memory sticks?

egruber
April 24th, 2008, 12:42 AM
I have a memory stick with the U3 System on it. When I mount it, I can only view the U3 system files, not the files I copied to the stick. Of course, I cannot run the U3 application. Any ideas on how I can view the files? Or should I just stick to non-U3 memory sticks?

And I'm really a newbie here, so please explain any steps. Thanks!!

Lord Xeb
April 24th, 2008, 03:33 AM
Have you tried WINE?I I have a U3 stick, but it is reformated to run Ubuntu on a stick. But I could see all the files I had on there at any time.

egruber
April 24th, 2008, 07:20 PM
The stick came pre-formatted with the u3 software, and I use it on my windows pc. Is there any way that ubuntu can read it? Perhaps some sort of add-on driver? I didn't want to reformat it with something else.

silvanus2005
April 24th, 2008, 07:27 PM
In my opinion U3 software it`s not useful at all. I had a U3 Sandisk stick, but I formatted it and I`m using it as a simply memory stick. I suggest you do the same; format it in Windows and you can use it in Ubuntu with no problem.

encompass
April 24th, 2008, 07:31 PM
What advantage does U3 have for you... I don't think there is much support for it. As it's just a file system ontop of a file system. (Not the brightest idea.) I would recommend just using the disk like any other USB stick. Otherwise your going to have trouble where ever you go with that thing.
So to say the least... I don't think a solution is out there.
Sorry,

egruber
April 25th, 2008, 12:36 PM
I liked it for a couple of reasons. One, because it can be password protected. Two, it has a couple of great programs. One lets me synch my outlook and files onto the drive and the second stores my encrypted passwords. Since I use it mostly on windows machines, I didn't want to mess with it. I have other non-u3 drives I can use. I just wanted to see if I could use this one, too. Thanks!

Bob535