PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New to Ubuntu 7 and have questions.

Universal344
April 23rd, 2008, 11:17 PM
I am new to Ubuntu 7. I am dual booting it with Vista Ultamate on a seperate partition (I got vista first).

I do have a few questions:

1.I am learning PHP. I put together some code then saved it. When I tried to open it in firefox it told me I was trying to open a PHP script and it asked me what I wanted to do. I clicked open with: firefox and clicked OK. Then it just opened another tab and asked me again, the process continued. When I finally said cancel all the other tabs were blank documents with nothing in the URL. Does anyone know what causes this?

2.I tried to enable desktop effects and it said "desktop effects could not be enabled." Yet, I have an ATI Radeon 2600 XT with DirectX 10 and Shader Model 4.0 support. So I go and download the drivers. Loan behold, it frags my graphics. So, I reinstall it over the old version. I couldn't find any drivers that had support for Linux. Is there any way I will still be able to enable desktop effects or is it hopeless:(?

This is my PHP script I tried to make work (probably doesn't though).

for ($I = 0; $I <= 1; $I++){
echo date('H:i:s');
if ($I=1) {
$I=0
}
}

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Paqman
April 23rd, 2008, 11:27 PM
2.I tried to enable desktop effects and it said "desktop effects could not be enabled." Yet, I have an ATI Radeon 2600 XT with DirectX 10 and Shader Model 4.0 support. So I go and download the drivers. Loan behold, it frags my graphics. So, I reinstall it over the old version. I couldn't find any drivers that had support for Linux. Is there any way I will still be able to enable desktop effects or is it hopeless:(?

Did you try using the ATI drive in Restricted Driver Manager? After installing it you need to go into Appearance and enable desktop effects. If the RDM driver doesn't help you can try getting a more up-to-date one using Envy (http://albertomilone.com/nvidia_scripts1.html).