PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Wine doesn't work for main user

GregMB
April 23rd, 2008, 06:26 PM
Hello. I am very new to Wine, and I am hoping someone can help me with a problem I haven't been able to fix. When I run Wine on my account on my computer, it freezes my computer and I have to manually reboot (A.K.A. hit the power switch). I googled for some info, and found that one user could use Wine on any account other than his main account. I figured it would be worth a shot to see if I had the same problem. It turns out, yes, I did. I read more about the problem, and someone suggested deleting the ~/.wine folder. It seemed to have worked for other people, so I tried it. Oddly enough, unlike my other account on my computer, I didn't /have/ a ~/.wine folder to begin with. I had three different folders, all in some kind of code, like .wine-eymZNx (that's the actual name of one of them). So I deleted all three, and tried Wine again. Close, but no cigar. My computer froze again. When I rebooted, a new wine folder (the one I mentioned above) appeared in the other three's place. I'm thinking of just copy and pasting the Wine folder from one of the other users on my computer that work fine, but before I did I wanted to know if anyone had any suggestions. If you have any tips/ideas/opinions/reasons why if I were to go ahead as planned the whole universe would explode/etc please post them. I've included a screenshot of the ghost Wine folder.

cogadh
April 23rd, 2008, 06:36 PM
When you say you were trying to run Wine, are you running "winecfg" before you try to run any applications? Those odd .wine-blAH directories are failed attempts by Wine to create a fake Windows directory, which often happens if you jump right into running an application before running winecfg to configure the .wine directory.

GregMB
April 23rd, 2008, 06:38 PM