PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] " 'gdm' does not exist "

CyberDean
April 23rd, 2008, 02:33 PM
I added a quest user last evening to my Ubuntu 7.10 laptop. Immediately after I was unable to boot up to the login screen. Instead I get the following message.

The GDM user 'gdm' does not exist. Please correct GDM configuation and restart GDM.

Ok, I believe I have figured out what it is, but being a Linux user for 3 months I have no idea how to correct it. And with the new "Forum" configuation I do not know how to search the forum for assistance.

Somehow, some way, in my adding a new user, something happened to the gdm user. In a terminal window I checked users and only my user name shows up.

Now what? I have a remastered CD of my laptop software as of last month, will that help?

phidia
April 23rd, 2008, 02:52 PM
How did you add the "Guest user"? To create an alternate account on your install one usually does sudo adduser in a shell/terminal. Doing it that will will create all the files needed and ask you for a password and other user info.

Also if the only user shown is you then the attempt to add another account didn't work.
For your specific problem see the thread here (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/debian-26/gdm-fails-to-start-on-boot-618057/?highlight=The+GDM+user+%27gdm%27+does+-exist.+Please+correct+GDM+configuation+restart+GDM .)
The linuxquestions.org site is a good alternative place to look particularly while the ubuntu forum is reconfiguring this week.

CyberDean
April 23rd, 2008, 03:41 PM
I found a GUI under Admin, I believe it was called "User Management". In the GUI it asked for new user name and password, I let the other options go to default. After saving and the GUI disappeared I attempted to test it by logging out and rebooting, and that is when I got the error.

I will look into the link you gave me, Thanks.

CyberDean
April 23rd, 2008, 06:23 PM
For phidia,