PDA

View Full Version : Dark Ages - Errors in termial

Spoken
April 18th, 2008, 04:33 AM
MY UPDATED SITUATION IS ON THIS POST!!!I

I'm trying to get one of my favorite windows games to work through wine. when i try to run it through wine i get this error. THE WINE DATABASE HAS NOTHING ABOUT THIS GAME! IS THERE ANYTHING IN THE CODE SPECIFIALLY THAT TELLS ME WHATS WRONG? I'm a noob.

NOTICE: These are the error messages i get with compiz fusion turned OFF!!

Dark Ages (the game i want to get to work) (http://www.darkages.com)

======================================
Here is the OUTPUT i get after i try to LAUNCH
======================================

fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x32f290,0x00000000), stub!

A error box pops up and says:

----------------
LOD Error
----------------
::
main data file not found

Spoken
April 19th, 2008, 01:48 AM
:confused:

happyhamster
April 19th, 2008, 02:39 PM
err:module:import_dll Library MSVBVM60.DLL (which is needed by L"C:\\Program Files\\KRU\\Dark Ages\\thidchk.dll") not found
fixme:shell:DllCanUnloadNow stub
err:module:import_dll Library MFC42.DLL (which is needed by L"C:\\Program Files\\KRU\\Dark Ages\\Launch.dll") not found

The program needs a few native windows dll files: MFC42.DLL and MSVBVM60.DLL (and perhaps more). An easy way of getting those is using the winetricks script. Download the script from:
http://wiki.winehq.org/winetricks

- Navigate to where you downloaded the script:
cd /path/to/where/you/downloaded/the/script

- Run winetricks to install vcrun6 and vb6run (visual basic)::
sh winetricks vcrun6 vb6run

- Or just run winetricks to see all options:
sh winetricks

- Perhaps you'll need cabextract to get things to install, in that case:
sudo apt-get install cabextract

Good luck.

Spoken
April 20th, 2008, 05:54 AM
kk, i did what you instructed me to do, and yet, i still have the same output in terminal.

happyhamster
April 20th, 2008, 02:44 PM