PDA

View Full Version : What do the *s mean in C?

microfi
March 23rd, 2008, 11:38 PM
Hi folks!
I'm a C-programming newbie and I'm having a few doubts with the code generated by Anjuta (when you create a new project):
What does the * characters mean (pardon my question, that's because I don't know the name of this character in English, so I was unable to search for it on Google) in situations like these:

GtkWidget *window;
GladeXML *gxml;

What's different if I do this?

GtkWidget window;
GladeXML gxml;

And in functions over the reference manuals they appear too:

void gtk_signal_connect_while_alive (GtkObject *object, const gchar *name, GtkSignalFunc func, gpointer func_data, GtkObject *alive_object);

What do they mean?
Thanks, Filipe

slavik
March 23rd, 2008, 11:47 PM
read up on pointers. :)

SledgeHammer_999
March 23rd, 2008, 11:48 PM
these are pointers. Read about them here (http://cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/pointers.html). The link refers to C++ but the same things apply to C(at least for pointers).

EDIT:'*' is called "asterisk" in english.

Lster
March 23rd, 2008, 11:51 PM
SledgeHammer_999's link is probably clearer but you may also find this useful:

http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/C_Programming/Pointers_and_arrays

microfi
March 23rd, 2008, 11:52 PM
Thanks folks!
The thing is that I'm brazilian and it's called "asterisco" here... Not so different...
I'll read something about pointers!
:) Filipe

Joeb454
March 23rd, 2008, 11:56 PM
Make sure you at least know the basic's first ;)

When you start venturing into Pointer's and Dynamic Memory allocation (I've even done pointers to arrays of pointers) It starts to get very confusing :p

microfi
March 24th, 2008, 12:18 AM
I'm new to C, but I built programs with Delphi in Windows.
Should I consider using other languages such as Python first?

slavik
March 24th, 2008, 12:30 AM
I'm new to C, but I built programs with Delphi in Windows.
Should I consider using other languages such as Python first?