PDA

View Full Version : Canon IP1200 on Linux



dodimar
March 17th, 2008, 06:10 PM
I have a Canon Pixma ip1200. I bought this before I made a decision to use Linux. Bad thing is Linux doesn't support this kind of printer (or should I say, this specific Canon printer doesn't support Linux).

I tried using Turboprint, but I have to purchase it in order to print in quality mode without its logo (can only print in draft).

I tried some instructions to use ip2200's driver, no go.

Is there any solution for my problem. Anyone who also use this kind of printer in their linux box?

Honestly, I'm getting frustrated on this one...

fedex1993
March 17th, 2008, 09:13 PM
well right now my canon pixma ip6010 has no driver for linux ecept using turboprint. i recommend buying it because it works well. Cannon does not like linux from what i have seen if you buy a new printer in the future i would go with an HP hp seems to love linux

dodimar
March 17th, 2008, 11:52 PM
yeah... I just wish Turboprint is free. But I don't blame them because they have to purchase info from the printer manufacturers.

Well, if I have no other choice, I'd probably buy a new printer.

But if my credit card application will be approved the following weeks, I might buy Turboprint..

But if there's a solution aside from purchasing... it'll be great...:)

wersdaluv
March 18th, 2008, 12:04 PM
I have an MP150 and it works out of the box. I can scan and print.

Are you on Gutsy? It supports a lot of printers.

Anyway, here's a useful link http://mynewbietips.blogspot.com/2007/06/installing-canon-pixma-ip1200-driver.html

dodimar
March 19th, 2008, 02:44 PM
Unfortunately, na-subukan ko na yun. Using ip2200 driver for ip1200.. ang nang yayari, nagflash lang yung ilaw ng printer, tapos wala namang na-iprint.

Using Ubuntu 7.10... It supports lots of printer, canon ip1200 not included... pero nade-detect nya na canon ip1200 yung printer, pero walang driver... <sighs>

Turboprint na lang ako.. sana ma-approve na ang credit card application ko...

loell
March 19th, 2008, 02:59 PM
*ha..* subukan mo muna yung nasa p2p na turboprint, bago mo bilhin *ching!!* :mrgreen:

dodimar
March 19th, 2008, 07:25 PM
*ha..* subukan mo muna yung nasa p2p na turboprint, bago mo bilhin *ching!!* :mrgreen:

oo nga ano...

Bakit ba nakalimutan ko yun... hehehe

dodimar
June 7th, 2008, 03:14 AM
Wala na ba talaga solution ito?

phpmonkey
December 16th, 2008, 04:33 AM
I just got this working on my laptop using the following steps, from http://mambo.kuhp.kyoto-u.ac.jp/~takushi/#canon

Open up a terminal and


1.
sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list
Add the line
deb http://mambo.kuhp.kyoto-u.ac.jp/~takushi/ubuntu ./

2.
sudo apt-get upgrade

3.
sudo apt-get install libcnbj-2.6 bjfilter-2.6 pstocanonbj

4. Open your web browser and go to
http://127.0.0.1:631/ which is the cupsys admin. Under the "home" tab" click "add printer" and follow the instructions, choosing
Canon iP2200 Ver.2.60 as your driver

5. Go to the "Printers" tab, and click "Print Test page".


It shoud be possible to do steps 4-5 through System>Administration>Printing but the correct driver wasn't showing up there for me, so I went through the cupsys browser admin instead.

Note: The only available printing option appears to be 600dpi

dodimar
December 16th, 2008, 12:08 PM
I just got this working on my laptop using the following steps, from http://mambo.kuhp.kyoto-u.ac.jp/~takushi/#canon

Open up a terminal and


1.
sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list
Add the line

2.
sudo apt-get upgrade

3.
sudo apt-get install libcnbj-2.6 bjfilter-2.6 pstocanonbj

4. Open your web browser and go to which is the cupsys admin. Under the "home" tab" click "add printer" and follow the instructions, choosing as your driver

5. Go to the "Printers" tab, and click "Print Test page".


It shoud be possible to do steps 4-5 through System>Administration>Printing but the correct driver wasn't showing up there for me, so I went through the cupsys browser admin instead.

Note: The only available printing option appears to be 600dpi

I think I had tried this before, but still not working.. But I'll try it again on my next reinstall just to make sure..

Thanks for the info man..

nenyalorien
December 3rd, 2009, 10:08 AM
hi guys. I tried this, however the server already removed the driver. Is there any other solution to this? Thank you.