PDA

View Full Version : Any free RoR/Django hosts?

Majorix
March 16th, 2008, 03:39 PM
OK so I am a newbie, wannabe web developer.

I am learning RoR and Django. Don't ask me why I do both.

Anyways, I am looking for a free host for the two. I have found something from a free web hosts list, but it said that it supports "Python" but no sign of Django or anything. When I search that list for Django nothing shows up.

Same goes for RoR. When I search for "Rails" only 3 hosts show up, and they don't somehow include the word "Rails" anywhere. When I search for Ruby 5 hosts show up.

So what I am asking is, what do these mean? I mean, does a host that supports "Python" also automatically have Django or something? Or perhaps TurboGears? Or does a host that includes the word Ruby have Rails? If not, can I have the name of one or two free RoR/Django hosts?

BTW I would be glad if the RoR host was 1.2, as the book I read (Agile Web Dev) doesn't talk about 2.0, and none of the books/tutorials I found so far do either.

Thanks for the interest.

pmasiar
March 16th, 2008, 04:52 PM
I am not sure why you try to learn both - pick either one.

I am also not sure why you expect free hosting. For development, both Django and TurboGears come with self-hosted development server. For production deployment, I don't see why anyone would let you run long-running processes for free. If you need free Python web hosting, use plain CGI module (which is short-running process), I assume that it should be easier to find free hosting for those.

mssever
March 16th, 2008, 09:31 PM
If you can run Ruby, you can run Rails; if you can run Python, presumably you can run Django. I don't know about Django, but Rails performs badly when Ruby is run as a standard CGI.

LaRoza
March 16th, 2008, 11:00 PM
Free (RoR): http://xmgfree.com/

List of hosts (RoR): http://wiki.rubyonrails.com/rails/pages/RailsWebHosts

elithrar
March 16th, 2008, 11:33 PM
I am learning RoR and Django. Don't ask me why I do both.