PDA

View Full Version : Package installer error

mikeric
March 16th, 2008, 04:52 AM
everytime i try to install ubuntuzilla i get Error: Dependency is not satisfiable: libstdc++5. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Im new to linux and ubuntu and just trying to get thunderbird working.

Bubba64
March 16th, 2008, 05:19 AM
Post your Distribution personally I had never heard of ubuntuzilla It is not even in my synaptic section you may not need it. You can get Thunderbird in synaptic.

mikeric
March 16th, 2008, 05:25 AM
I was trying to install thunderbird and couldnt get it to work and found stuff on the forum for ubuntuzilla and followed the instructions. I have ubuntu 7.10. im new to it, just got it the other day.

Bubba64
March 16th, 2008, 05:35 AM
You can install it in the terminal just type sudo apt-get install thunderbird
You might want to make sure that you have opened all the repositories in system administration software sources first you can open all except most advise against source code. I have never had a bad update, but others have so anybody else wanting to chime in on any of this please do so. if you haven't opened the repositories yet you will probably get some backport and security updates so install all before you try for Thunderbird, good luck.

mikeric
March 16th, 2008, 05:42 AM
Thanks for the quick reply, i tried that and this is what i got

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Package thunderbird is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source
E: Package thunderbird has no installation candidate

Bubba64
March 16th, 2008, 05:51 AM