PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Including Libraries and Dependencies

brady.k
March 15th, 2008, 03:17 AM
Hi everyone,

This is my first time using nonstandard libraries, so excuse the question for being stupid.

"main.cpp" contains
#include <libxml++>
"Makefile" contains

userGrab.ose: main.cpp
g++ -o userGrab.ose main.cpp

If I comment out the libxml++ includes, it compiles my "hello world". After digging into the manual (http://libxmlplusplus.sourceforge.net/docs/manual/html/index.html#id2472502), I found that it said to run
pkg-config libxml++-2.6 --cflags --libs
which output

-I/usr/include/libxml++-2.6 -I/usr/lib/libxml++-2.6/include -I/usr/include/libxml2 -I/usr/include/glibmm-2.4 -I/usr/lib/glibmm-2.4/include -I/usr/include/sigc++-2.0 -I/usr/lib/sigc++-2.0/include -I/usr/include/glib-2.0 -I/usr/lib/glib-2.0/include -lxml++-2.6 -lxml2 -lglibmm-2.4 -lgobject-2.0 -lsigc-2.0 -lglib-2.0

But after attaching it to my g++ command in the Makefile

g++ -o userGrab.ose main.cpp -I/usr/include/libxml++-2.6 -I/usr/lib/libxml++-2.6/include -I/usr/include/libxml2 -I/usr/include/glibmm-2.4 -I/usr/lib/glibmm-2.4/include -I/usr/include/sigc++-2.0 -I/usr/lib/sigc++-2.0/include -I/usr/include/glib-2.0 -I/usr/lib/glib-2.0/include -lxml++-2.6 -lxml2 -lglibmm-2.4 -lgobject-2.0 -lsigc-2.0 -lglib-2.0

I get an error of

main.cpp:2:20: error: libxml++: No such file or directory
make: *** [userGrab.ose] Error 1

How do I fix this?

Thanks

WW
March 15th, 2008, 03:33 AM
Take another looks at the docs (http://libxmlplusplus.sourceforge.net/docs/manual/html/ar01s02.html). Your include statement should be

#include <libxml++/libxml++.h>

By the way, instead of copying the output of the pkg-config command into your Makefile, you can set it up so that the Makefile runs pkg-config on its own.
For example, something like this:

g++ main.cpp $(pkg-config --libs --cflags libxml++-2.6) -o userGrab.ose

brady.k
March 15th, 2008, 03:44 AM