PDA

View Full Version : Becomming a better java programmer

printLn
March 14th, 2008, 04:12 AM
I have some experience under my belt but not enough to be considered a good java programmer. I want to get involved in open source projects, what is the best way to go about this? I've tried to read the code on two projects but they just blew my mind, Is this normal? or do i need to work with more smaller applications? Any advice from gurus would be much appreciated!

LaRoza
March 14th, 2008, 05:27 AM
I have some experience under my belt but not enough to be considered a good java programmer. I want to get involved in open source projects, what is the best way to go about this? I've tried to read the code on two projects but they just blew my mind, Is this normal? or do i need to work with more smaller applications? Any advice from gurus would be much appreciated!

You will find that most projects are large, otherwise they wouldn't be projects :)

You can help in other ways, I am sure freshmeat.net has a Java project (you can search by language) that you might be interested in. Debugging can be most useful.

Or you could write small applications that you would find useful, or that you think there is a demand for.

What other languages do you know? An important part of being a good programmer is not being tied to a single language or paradigm.

bmeyer
March 14th, 2008, 05:48 AM
Picking up a book or finding a website about Object Orientation topics would greatly help you -- if you haven't done so already.

pmasiar
March 14th, 2008, 01:09 PM
"Some experience" is rather vague expression.

Yes, it is normal that any interesting project is bigger than average homework :-) If you are writing something for weeks, months, even years, code just grows on you!