PDA

View Full Version : beginner bash script question

flowevd
March 13th, 2008, 11:38 PM
hi

elementary q.

i'm playing with bash scripts and i'm totally new to them.
i thought I'd start by writing a short script to execute mpd then ncmpc.

This has proven very simple. However, when i quit ncmpc, mpd continues to run. how can i tell it to kill mpd on exit of the frontend?

after a little research i attempted the following

#! bin/bash/
mpd
ncmpc || mpd --kill

this doesn't work, natch.:-\"

please help a complete novice.
thanks!
flowevd

ruy_lopez
March 14th, 2008, 12:03 AM
I don't know what mpd or ncmpc do. But bash scripts are usually begun with this:

eg "bash_file.sh"

#!/bin/bash

Then:

chmod +x bash_file.sh

To run:

./bash_file.sh

mssever
March 14th, 2008, 12:20 AM
#! bin/bash/
mpd
ncmpc || mpd --kill
What your code currently does:
Execute mpd. I'm guessing that this is a daemon?
Execute ncmpc
If ncmpc exits with a nonzero exit status (generally due to an error condition), then run mpd --kill. If you exit ncmpc normally, then it will exit 0 and mpd won't get killed.I think you're after something more like this:

#!/bin/bash
mpd
ncmpc
mpd --kill

Jeff24K
March 14th, 2008, 12:47 AM
Error messages?

I'm not so sure your problem is related to bash scripting as much as it is the particular programs/processes you're trying to script, but...

#! bin/bash/

This should be

#! /bin/bash

You have a misplaced "/" that should be giving you a "bad command interpreter" errror.

mpd

mpd is a service or "daemon" that typically gets started using the init script found in /etc/init.d. Trying to start it "manually" as a non-root user without having generated a working a config file named .mpdconf in your $HOME (or specifying one on the command line) should get you a warning about creating a PID file, setting GID, or the like.

ncmpc || mpd --kill