PDA

View Full Version : Why Ubuntu ? ... Why, oh why ?

Cov(enant)
February 21st, 2008, 06:19 PM
Alright, I am a persistant Windows based PC user.
(Coming from Sinclair ZX81, Commodore 64/128, Amiga, 80x86, Pentium going to Core2Duo/Quad soon)

My main intention is to use the PC for games, internet and Word Processing.

As for someone who doesn't know nothing about different OS and their advantages ... could you tell me your top 5 reasons for why changing to Ubuntu, please ?

My 5 reasons for Windows are:

1. PC games require Windows OS ... afaik
2. Windows Vista has an awesome user interface.
3. As I'm a noob in this subject, I wouldn't know about other OS being faster / more stable or not.
4. The majority of programs on the market are for Windows, right ?
5. Billions of people can't be wrong !?!! ... can they ?

Thank you :)

NightwishFan
February 21st, 2008, 06:22 PM
1. It is open source.
2. It has a well supported AMD64 version.
3. It has a live cd with gparted.
4. The interface is customizable and more lightweight than Vista, and arguably Xp. (Definably more customizable).
5. These forums are my home away from home.

Borbus
February 21st, 2008, 06:28 PM
1. You can play some good games on Linux (UT, ETQW etc.)
2. Compiz-Fusion which is an "awesome interface" (better than Vista, more functional, more customisable)
3. As I'm not a noob I know Linux is more stable and more secure.
4. The majority of Windows apps have an open source alternative, often better (ie. LaTeX instead of Word etc.)
5. Billions of people can be very, very wrong.

Yellow Pasque
February 21st, 2008, 06:30 PM
I made the switch to 24/7 Linux use
1. It's free
2. I can change my hardware to whatever I want without having to call Redmond and convince someone who can barely speak English that I'm not using the OS on a different PC and violating the cumbersome MS license
3. What's a virus?
4. It boots and runs much faster