PDA

View Full Version : trouble with world of warcraft



devin0
February 17th, 2008, 11:51 AM
Hello, i followed this toutorial to try to install world of warcraft on my machine.http://wiki.kaspersandberg.com/doku.php?id=howtos:wine:worldofwarcraftwh
http://wiki.kaspersandberg.com/doku.php?id=howtos:wine:worldofwarcraft

everything seemed to be going ok, but when it comes time to play wow, the two intro movies play,then wow exits. i couldn't find anything on how to fix this problem, could someone please tell me how to fi this problem?

Sandlst
February 17th, 2008, 09:49 PM
Hello, could you try running wow from a terminal and see if an error message pops up? If one pops up, please post it here. Also, what video card are you using?

devin0
February 18th, 2008, 01:10 AM
ok, I type in wine "C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\Launcher.exe"
the launcher starts, i click play. the intro movie plays,then exits. this is what the terminal says:

llyokoboy0@lyokobox:~$ wine "C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\Launcher.exe"
fixme:shdocvw:WebBrowser_QueryInterface (0x12eb08)->({bd1ae5e0-a6ae-11ce-bd37-504200c10000} 0x33e780) interface not supported
fixme:shdocvw:PersistStreamInit_Load (0x12eb08)->(0x33e74c)
fixme:shdocvw:OleControl_FreezeEvents (0x12eb08)->(1)
fixme:shdocvw:OleControl_FreezeEvents (0x12eb08)->(0)
fixme:shell:IShellLinkA_fnGetPath (0x130420): WIN32_FIND_DATA is not yet filled.
fixme:shell:IShellLinkA_fnGetPath (0x130828): WIN32_FIND_DATA is not yet filled.
fixme:shell:IShellLinkA_fnGetPath (0x130828): WIN32_FIND_DATA is not yet filled.
fixme:iphlpapi:NotifyAddrChange (Handle 0x7d2969f8, overlapped 0x7d2969dc): stub
err:ole:CoGetClassObject class {4955dd33-b159-11d0-8fcf-00aa006bcc59} not registered
err:ole:CoGetClassObject no class object {4955dd33-b159-11d0-8fcf-00aa006bcc59} could be created for context 0x1
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_QueryStatus (0x12eb9c)->((null) 1 0x33ded4 (nil))
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0x12eb9c)->((null) 25 2 0x33dee8 (nil))
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0x12eb9c)->((null) 26 2 0x33dee8 (nil))
fixme:shdocvw:ClientSite_GetContainer (0x12eb9c)->(0x33df24)
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0x12eb9c)->({000214d1-0000-0000-c000-000000000046} 37 0 0x33dfe0 (nil))
fixme:shdocvw:HttpNegotiate_BeginningTransaction (0x144d58)->(L"" L"" 0 0x33e014)
fixme:shdocvw:BindStatusCallback_GetBindInfo (0x144d58)->(0x33e018 0x33e028)
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0x12eb9c)->((null) 29 2 0x33ecc0 (nil))
fixme:shdocvw:DocHostUIHandler_GetDropTarget (0x12eb9c)
fixme:shdocvw:ClientSite_GetContainer (0x12eb9c)->(0x33ece0)
fixme:shdocvw:InPlaceFrame_SetStatusText (0x12eb9c)->(0xb7e27109)
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0x12eb9c)->((null) 25 2 0x33ec14 (nil))
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0x12eb9c)->((null) 26 2 0x33ec14 (nil))
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0x12eb9c)->((null) 21 2 (nil) (nil))
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0x12eb9c)->((null) 28 2 0x33ec6c (nil))
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0x12eb9c)->((null) 26 2 0x33eca0 (nil))
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0x12eb9c)->((null) 29 2 0x33ecb0 (nil))
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0x12eb9c)->({de4ba900-59ca-11cf-9592-444553540000} 2315 0 (nil) (nil))
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0x12eb9c)->((null) 35 0 (nil) (nil))
fixme:shdocvw:InPlaceFrame_SetStatusText (0x12eb9c)->(0x7bc9e5b1)
fixme:shdocvw:OleInPlaceObject_InPlaceDeactivate (0x12eb08)
fixme:mshtml:HlinkTarget_SetBrowseContext (0x145268)->((nil))
fixme:shdocvw:OleObject_Close (0x12eb08)->(1)
fixme:shell:DllCanUnloadNow stub
lyokoboy0@lyokobox:~$ fixme:advapi:SetSecurityInfo stub
fixme:powrprof:DllMain (0x7d550000, 1, (nil)) not fully implemented
fixme:ntdll:NtPowerInformation Unimplemented NtPowerInformation action: 11
fixme:powrprof:DllMain (0x7d550000, 0, (nil)) not fully implemented
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x34ede4,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x34ed18,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x34f328,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x34f5ec,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x34f5ec,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x34f05c,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x34f724,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:system:SystemParametersInfoW Unimplemented action: 113 (SPI_SETMOUSESPEED)
fixme:d3d9:IDirect3DDevice9Impl_CreateQuery (0x12cdc8) call to IWineD3DDevice_CreateQuery failed
fixme:d3d:IWineD3DDeviceImpl_CreateQuery (0x130da8) Event query: Unimplemented, but pretending to be supported
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x34f05c,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:system:SystemParametersInfoW Unimplemented action: 112 (SPI_GETMOUSESPEED)
fixme:system:SystemParametersInfoW Unimplemented action: 113 (SPI_SETMOUSESPEED)
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW Option INTERNET_OPTION_CONNECT_TIMEOUT (5000): STUB
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW INTERNET_OPTION_SEND/RECEIVE_TIMEOUT not supported on protocol 4
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW Option INTERNET_OPTION_CONTEXT_VALUE; STUB
fixme:d3d:state_psizemin WINED3DRS_POINTSIZE_MIN not supported on this opengl, value is 0.000000
fixme:d3d:state_psizemax WINED3DRS_POINTSIZE_MAX not supported on this opengl, value is 1.000000

lyokoboy0@lyokobox:~$


You asked for what my video card is, i dont know and dont know how to find out....

dtgolder
February 18th, 2008, 01:31 AM
Same thing here...have loaded WOW following the tutorials...after playing the intro movie, it cuts out and drops me to the desktop.

Same thing whether I run launcher.exe or wow.exe

Any ideas?

(Dell B120 laptop, Gutsy)

Sandlst
February 18th, 2008, 04:45 AM
Ok, all the messages preceded by "fixme" are messages intended for developers, so they aren't really relavent; I would say the problem is with these lines:
err:ole:CoGetClassObject class {4955dd33-b159-11d0-8fcf-00aa006bcc59} not registered
err:ole:CoGetClassObject no class object {4955dd33-b159-11d0-8fcf-00aa006bcc59} could be created for context 0x1
A quick search on google, ubuntuforums, and winehq doesn't show any helpful information for this specific error message, but I did notice on winehq's app database some users had the same problem with the intro video, and fixed it by unchecking "allow pixel shader if hardware allows" in winecfg, so maybe you could try that.

Also, are you running the latest version of wine? If not, or you're not sure, follow the guide here: http://www.winehq.org/site/download-deb


You asked for what my video card is, i dont know and dont know how to find out....
Ah, I just meant a general vendor, i.e. Nvidia, Ati, Intel, etc.

One last thing, you can run the command
WINEDEBUG=fixme-all wine "C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\Launcher.exe"if you want to avoid printing out the "fixme" messages, to make the actual error messages easier to read.

Good luck!

devin0
February 18th, 2008, 03:34 PM
I did everything you said, but just asbefore- the intro movie plays then returns me to the desktop.

devin0
February 18th, 2008, 04:08 PM
actually after the last movie i ran don't get the movie anymore. i get a blank screen with an echoing sound. also there is now alot of stuff in my config.wtf file that wasn't there before.

rickggreen
February 18th, 2008, 04:15 PM
I had WOW running under Wine 54, with the last update to 55 stopped working, how do I get 54 back?

Sandlst
February 18th, 2008, 11:15 PM
actually after the last movie i ran don't get the movie anymore. i get a blank screen with an echoing sound. also there is now alot of stuff in my config.wtf file that wasn't there before.
Alright, try launching the game with this command:
WINEDEBUG=fixme-all wine "C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\Launcher.exe" -d3d
This will try to start the game in direct 3d mode, which tends to be worse than opengl, but I've heard of a few cases where direct 3d is the only way for some graphics cards to run it. By the way, could you list your graphics card? You can look it up with this command:
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Device
The last device listed should be your graphics card, I think. If you have an intel graphics card, wine may never be able to play wow. If you have an ati graphics card, you might be able to get it working with some work. With an Nvidia card, the chances wow will run easily are much higher.


I had WOW running under Wine 54, with the last update to 55 stopped working, how do I get 54 back?
Try looking here: http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/archive/index.html

devin0
February 19th, 2008, 07:59 PM
ok, I typed in WINEDEBUG=fixme-all wine "C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\Launcher.exe" -d3d

the launcher opened and i clicked play. My screen turned black for about 1 minute, then i was returned to the desktop. this is what was in the terminal:

lyokoboy0@lyokobox:~$ WINEDEBUG=fixme-all wine "C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\Launcher.exe" -d3d
err:advapi:service_get_status service protocol error - failed to read pipe r = 0 count = 0!
err:ole:CoGetClassObject class {4955dd33-b159-11d0-8fcf-00aa006bcc59} not registered
err:ole:CoGetClassObject no class object {4955dd33-b159-11d0-8fcf-00aa006bcc59} could be created for context 0x1


you also asked me to run cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Device ,
this is what i got:
lyokoboy0@lyokobox:~$ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Device
Section "InputDevice"
Section "InputDevice"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Section "InputDevice"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Section "InputDevice"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
Section "InputDevice"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
Section "InputDevice"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
Section "Device"
Device "ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Mobility U1"
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
InputDevice "stylus" "SendCoreEvents"
InputDevice "cursor" "SendCoreEvents"
InputDevice "eraser" "SendCoreEvents"
InputDevice "Synaptics Touchpad"
lyokoboy0@lyokobox:~$

Sandlst
February 19th, 2008, 11:12 PM
Having an ati card makes things more difficult, unfortunately. The fact that the same error messages occurred under opengl and direct3d makes me think that the problem is with your graphics card drivers, so my next question is which drivers are you using? If you don't know, try looking under 'System/Administration/Restricted Drivers' and see if the box is checked for the graphics driver. I use an nvidia card myself, but I believe the driver you want to be using is known as the "fglrx" driver.

Sammi
February 20th, 2008, 12:21 AM
Have you tried looking over the community WoW/Wine howto: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WorldofWarcraft ?

And especially it troubleshooting section?

devin0
February 21st, 2008, 04:56 AM
I went to system/administration/restricted drivers manager. When i click on restricted drivers manager i get a message saying
"Your hardware does not need any restricted drivers."

Is this a problem?

Zypher
February 21st, 2008, 07:34 AM
SET movie "0"
SET expansionMovie "0"

in Config.wtf plz.

and run in OpenGL

Sammi
February 21st, 2008, 06:12 PM
I went to system/administration/restricted drivers manager. When i click on restricted drivers manager i get a message saying
"Your hardware does not need any restricted drivers."

Is this a problem?It should be right if you have a Intel graphics card.

Only Nvidia and ATI require restricted drivers for advanced 3D.

Sandlst
February 21st, 2008, 06:49 PM
It should be right if you have a Intel graphics card.

Only Nvidia and ATI require restricted drivers for advanced 3D.
I think he has an ati card, since I asked him in the first page to do a
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Deviceand a device showed up as


Section "Device"
Device "ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Mobility U1"

I've done some digging on that specific card, and it appears the fglrx drivers do not support it, but some people have had success getting direct rendering with the open-source radeon driver.

devin0, could you run this command for us please:
glxinfo | grep directand post the result?

devin0
February 21st, 2008, 10:04 PM
ok, i ran that code in terminal and this is what i got:

lyokoboy0@lyokobox:~$ glxinfo | grep direct
direct rendering: Yes
lyokoboy0@lyokobox:~$

Sammi
February 21st, 2008, 10:29 PM
I think he has an ati card...Sry, I only skimmed the tread very quickly ;)

Sandlst
February 25th, 2008, 05:34 AM
The fact that you have direct rendering is good; you've done everything right, that guide is solid, but since it still is not working I'm going to have to assume your graphics card just does not work well with wine.

I would test it out on other graphics-intensive windows games known to work with wine if you have any (demos would be fine too), and also to try native linux games that require 3d-acceleration (like planet penguin racer) to test out your graphics card. Depending on the results, dual-booting might be your only chance at playing wow. I tried searching for people using your specific card on linux, and haven't managed to find any information.

Hopefully someone more knowledgeable than me can help you, I've tried everything I can think of, good luck!

You might also want to try the irc ubuntu channels, if you haven't already.

Server:
irc.freenode.org
Channel:
#ubuntuforums

kindofabuzz
February 25th, 2008, 06:11 AM
my Wow is working perfectly now thanks to the newest wine version. 0.9.56. no more opengl!

Sammi
February 27th, 2008, 01:19 AM
Even if you set WoW to use DirectX you're still using OpenGL, because Wine translates all the DirectX calls that WoW makes into OpenGL :D