PDA

View Full Version : How to treat new users and the terminal

PurposeOfReason
February 16th, 2008, 04:24 AM
You just installed Ubuntu for your first time and you're dead excited. You've seen all the videos of compiz and what linux is capable of but something isn't working whether it be your graphics drivers or you didn't have an active internet connection when you installed so you can't get packages for your new OS. For the later, and easy fix is just to type sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list and then remove the comments; however that requires the dreaded terminal.

When I help a new users on the absolute beginners talk section, I try to get them to use a terminal first and then a full out GUI method second (in this example it'd be opening up nautilus and going through the file system). As you would expect, most new users prefer the later as it's "friendly". Much slower, but still "friendly". Then they go along in their GUI ways until boom, they mess up something and their stuck in the command line and have no idea what to do. What is nano or vim? Startx? "Help, I'm in a terminal screen and don't know what to do!" usually isn't going to get help because let's be honest, there are many things that could have gone wrong.

I believe that help should be given so that users are at least terminal aware and know a few basic commands. I'm not saying pick on them by saying to sudo rm rf anything, but that does have it's understanding that users should know what they're doing. Linux started with CLI and it shouldn't be cast aside so easily. If someone can tell me that a GUI is always more powerful than a CLI and back it up, then we can move on. Until that day, new users should be taught what to do if "the worst" comes or a quicker way to do something.

Your thoughts on this?

LaRoza
February 16th, 2008, 05:22 AM