PDA

View Full Version : Good Decision?

slats
February 6th, 2008, 03:57 PM
i have just completed programming with VisualBasic.net and currently learning java. Since I'm just a beginner with programming was it a good decision to switch to Ubuntu or did i make a bad choice?

DamagePlan
February 6th, 2008, 04:01 PM
You wont be able to use visual basic in ubuntu but you can use Java. If you now use ubuntu then I recomend learning python. Python is just as easy as vb.

slats
February 6th, 2008, 04:03 PM
yeah i dont really care to use vb cuz i dont really like it
i just like raw code
no having to add the visual stuff

im learning java through school because im going to a tournament later this year
what is python good for in ubuntu?

lnostdal
February 6th, 2008, 04:06 PM
No, go for it.

lars@ibmr52:~/programming/java$ sudo aptitude install sun-java6-jdk
lars@ibmr52:~/programming/java$ sudo update-java-alternatives -s java-6-sun

lars@ibmr52:~/programming/java$ cat Hello.java

public class Hello {
public static void main(String args[])
{
System.out.println("Hello World!");
}
}

lars@ibmr52:~/programming/java$ javac Hello.java
lars@ibmr52:~/programming/java$ java Hello
Hello World!
lars@ibmr52:~/programming/java$

Java is easy to install and use under Ubuntu.

slats
February 6th, 2008, 04:09 PM
is python used more often in ubuntu or is java?

SOULRiDER
February 6th, 2008, 04:19 PM

It is. If you are going to learn Java at school I say go learn Java. Check out a book called "First Head Java", I wish i had had it when I started to learn Java

Zugzwang
February 6th, 2008, 04:22 PM

You shouldn't care. If you need to learn Java anyway, sticking with Java is totally fine. It's just that a lot of the Ubuntu extensions are coded in Python. Whether Python or Java is easier to learn/use is often a matter of taste anyway.

slats
February 6th, 2008, 04:23 PM
i have "A Guide to Programming in Java" which was provided by my school