PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How to install TBB in Ubuntu

leileicats
February 5th, 2008, 06:45 PM
Hi, I'm a novice to Linux and TBB. I am asking help for how to build TBB in Ubutu.
I have already downloaded the source file: tbb20_20070927oss_src. And then I enter the directory and 'make': ~/tbb20_20070927oss_src/$ make

After running a bunch of stuff, I still can't compile TBB sample code.
My sample code:
#include "tbb/task_scheduler_init.h"

using namespace tbb;

int main() {
task_scheduler_init init;
return 0;
}

When I's using g++ compile, it shows:
/tmp/cccwYHds.o: In function `tbb::task_scheduler_init::task_scheduler_init(int )':
tbbtext.cpp:(.text._ZN3tbb19task_scheduler_initC1E i[tbb::task_scheduler_init::task_scheduler_init(int)]+0x28): undefined reference to `tbb::task_scheduler_init::initialize(int)'
/tmp/cccwYHds.o: In function `tbb::task_scheduler_init::~task_scheduler_init()' :
tbbtext.cpp:(.text._ZN3tbb19task_scheduler_initD1E v[tbb::task_scheduler_init::~task_scheduler_init()]+0x16): undefined reference to `tbb::task_scheduler_init::terminate()'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status

I guess I failed to install TBB on my machine. Could anyone give some help?

aks44
February 5th, 2008, 07:04 PM
Looks like it's a linking problem. Check the -L and -l (lowercase L) flags of g++.

Your command line should look like:

g++ tesp.cpp -o test -L/path/to/the/relevant/library/ -lnameoflib

where nameoflib would be eg. tbb if the actual shared library is named libtbb.so

leileicats
February 5th, 2008, 07:43 PM
Thanks for your informatioin.
1)
The share library is in the directory ~/lib/libtbb.so. TSo my command line:
g++ tbb.cpp -o tbb -L/lib/ -ltbb
And it works!!!

2)
I also install the tbb package ( a bunch of .deb files ). I could find the file tbb(there are a bunch of *.h files) in the directory as /usr/include/tbb which is the same as my boost libraries /usr/include/boost.

But now the question is:
When I am using boost libraries,