View Full Version : Easy to use library for 2D drawing?

February 4th, 2008, 01:30 PM
Dear All,
I'm looking for some easy to use library to write rather simple 2D game. It should not be super-fast or hardware accelerated, but I want it to be more or less simple to learn and to understand. The side-purpose of this project is to gain some experience in Linux programming and C/C++, which I never used for serious things (I'm a fortran expert). I looked at openGL but it is really very scary - I don't want to spend months learning how to draw a pixel on the bitmap.
What I need:
* (reasonably) fast access to individual pixels
* drawing lines and basic shapes
* loading pictures
* easy access to keyboard events

Any suggestions are appreciated!

February 4th, 2008, 01:45 PM
Check out SDL, then check out SDL_gfx (it's a side-library that makes it easier to draw simple shapes and such). You can also use OpenGL with SDL when you're up to it.

February 4th, 2008, 02:29 PM
I have no personal experience with it, but I've heard good things about libcairo: http://www.cairographics.org/

February 4th, 2008, 02:51 PM
Yes, SDL sounds perfect for what you want. It handles graphics, sound, and input. Setting it up on Ubuntu is also very easy; just type:

sudo apt-get install libsdl1.2-dev
And it will set the development libraries for you.

Once it installed you can test it with this prog if you like:

#include "SDL/SDL.h"
#include <math.h>

#define GRAPHICS_WIDTH 256
#define BITDEPTH 32
#define DEG_TO_RAD 0.0174532925
#define FRAME_LIMIT 1000 / 20 //Limit the animation to 20 frames per second

SDL_Surface *screen = NULL;
SDL_Event event;

void WritePixel(int x, int y, Uint32 col)
Uint32 *pix;

int main()
// Setup stuff
if(SDL_Init(SDL_INIT_VIDEO) !=0)
return 1;
if(screen == NULL)
return 1;

int x;
int quit = 0;
int anim = 0;
unsigned timer;

//This is the main loop that runs until the program ends
//Get the start time at the begining of each loop
timer = SDL_GetTicks();