PDA

View Full Version : Embedded System Running Ubuntu

amartch
February 1st, 2008, 07:27 AM
I'm doing a small embedded project thats in all essence a full fledged car computer.

So basically I need help on:
-Setting up a development rig and getting started
-Driver development
-Kernel hacking and hardening
-Minimizing memory footprint of OS
-Integrating voice recognition into OS
-Remote debugging

Please keep in mind that I'm not a newbie, I simply have never done any development on Linux.

Vadi
February 1st, 2008, 07:30 AM
Check out Ubuntu Mobile (google gives excellent results on "Ubuntu Mobile"), I think that's a project designed for this type of thing.

amartch
February 1st, 2008, 09:11 AM
Check out Ubuntu Mobile (google gives excellent results on "Ubuntu Mobile"), I think that's a project designed for this type of thing.
One of the first pages that I checked was
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/MobileAndEmbedded

It offered me some information, but not quite what I need.

chewearn
February 1st, 2008, 09:20 AM
For a start, what hardware platform are you choosing? PC-based intel, or some embedded CPU like ARM?

pmasiar
February 1st, 2008, 03:01 PM
I'm doing a small embedded project thats in all essence a full fledged car computer.
Please keep in mind that I'm not a newbie, I simply have never done any development on Linux.

Sounds like rather interesting project. Is it a hobby or professional? I mean do you have deadlines?

If it is a hobby, it looks like really a long-time project. I would advise to join a community which works on part of the problem, like device development. You can learn "tricks of trade" from experienced kernel hackers, and skills which you can transfer to your project later. If you dive directly to your project, you may be forced to reinvent the wheel (and it might turn up a square :-) ).

amartch
February 1st, 2008, 06:06 PM
For a start, what hardware platform are you choosing? PC-based intel, or some embedded CPU like ARM?