PDA

View Full Version : any phylogeneticist using ubuntu?

thermophile
December 6th, 2007, 08:37 PM
just wondering if anyone is running Paup* or arb on their ubuntu machine? I've built a few trees using fastdnaml which is massively faster than Paup on my mac, but I don't like the limited models that fastdnaml offers. I spent a few days last summer trying to get Paup and arb running on my ubuntu box but gave up cause I couldn't get them to either install or run properly. just wondering if anyone out there has any tips.

thanks

machoo02
December 7th, 2007, 03:06 PM
I'm a grad student currently studying fish systematics and phylogenetics, and I primarily use Ubuntu. However, I don't have PAUP* running on my machine, as my lab only has a mac license for it and I can't afford the license cost of the portable version. I haven't heard of arb yet, but I will look into it. PHYLIP installs and runs great, as does PhyML and MrBayes...PhyML might be a good substitute for fastdnaml, but it also suffers from a limited choice of models (although not as much as dnaml or fastdnaml)

thermophile
December 12th, 2007, 11:56 PM
arb is mostly a database that is also has an alignment editor and can run trees using either NJ or Phylip. I run it from X11 on my mac but it is supposed to work on linux too. it was built by a big group of microbiologist in Germany and it seems like it's mostly used by microbiologist or others looking at rRNA. but there's no reason that it couldn't work for any type of sequence data. I'd like to use MrBayes, but essentially no microbiologist use baysian trees

takakia
November 10th, 2008, 09:38 AM
I m phylogenetist and I mostly use ubuntu. but I have a great regard for debian. Sad thing is that MrBayes segfaults in amd64 architechtrue

frogotronic
April 16th, 2010, 12:45 PM
Hello,

An old thread, but is this still the case for MrBayes? I'm strongly considering buying PAUP4.0*beta for UNIX/LINUX. Anyone tried compiling this? Or does it come with a binary?

- CH