PDA

View Full Version : Eclipse + WTP = pulling teeth out

ICEcoffee
November 16th, 2007, 08:41 PM
First off, I'm new to linux. I'm looking for a web development replacement for my WinXP setup, whereupon I mainly used DW8 with a WAMP server.

Searching through the forums, many people have advocted various applications, including, Bluefish, Quanta and for die-hard coders, Gedit. Many people have suggested Eclipse is a 'serious' IDE coupled with WTP for PHP and CSS coding. I think perhaps Quanta may be enough for my needs, but I'm someone that feels he never wants to miss out on anything.

I've downloaded and installed Eclipse and Java 5, following some forum advice, but I can't find how to load the web tools environment. In fact, I keep finding threads that talk of failed installation, for one reason or another. One person even mentioned the fact that there was an all-in-one sollution that can be downloaded from the WTP site, but I can't find the right page to download from, nothing obvious.

Has anyone come across a how-to for idiots? or a link for the all-in-one page with help notes on how to install? and would I have to uninstall current installed software first?

Thanks for the help and sorry for the long post, I just wanted people to have as much detail as possible.

CptPicard
November 16th, 2007, 08:56 PM
WTP is for Java web application development.

And yes, it is horribly buggy still (last time I checked) like most Eclipse plugins seem to be... or maybe I just have bad luck.

If you really are into Java web app development (which you don't seem to be), I would recommend Netbeans... that's what I use. It integrates the toolkit so much better.

pmasiar
November 16th, 2007, 09:01 PM
For Java/Struts I used myEclipse (paid plugin), could not figure out WTP.

But then I had luck, boss talked to smart people, and he let me do wep apps in Python/Turbogears. Much simpler and much slicker than Java/Struts IMHO.

ICEcoffee
November 16th, 2007, 09:07 PM