PDA

View Full Version : Photoshop in Ubuntu

Persepolis
November 9th, 2007, 08:40 PM
Hi,

To begin with I am completely new to Linux. I have used Ubuntu for just over 24 hours and I think it is great. I would like to know if you can run Photoshop on Ubuntu. If so could someone give me step by step instruction on how I could do this.

ticopelp
November 9th, 2007, 10:23 PM
You can run Photoshop in wine, which can be added through Add / Remove Programs, or (I think this will work) you can just click here (apt://wine).

Once you have wine installed, you should be able to install and run Photoshop much like you would in Windows.

Persepolis
November 10th, 2007, 11:02 AM
Hi,

Well success and failure. I installed Photoshop CS2 on windows, then switched to Ubuntu. I went to the Photoshop.exe file in the windows partition and ran it with wine and hey presto I had photoshop up and running, However, after a while it crashed and I had to force quit it. Now, whenever I try to run it, it says that there is a hardware problem and it will not load.

Any ideas??

:guitar:

Steve1961
November 10th, 2007, 11:13 AM
Just to give you another option. You could install a virtual copy of XP in virtualbox and then run Photoshop in that.

mech7
November 10th, 2007, 03:47 PM
ONly v7 seems to run normal under WINE..

Persepolis
November 10th, 2007, 04:40 PM
How do I install a virtual copy of XP in virtualbox???????

aethralis
November 11th, 2007, 10:30 AM
Have a look at http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads but I would actually recommend dual boot instead.

Nymphadora
November 12th, 2007, 06:34 AM

What sort of problems would CS2 Have, running in WIne? I've actually been looking into this as well.

vishzilla
November 12th, 2007, 06:48 AM
How about trying Gimp. its quite good and its getting there to the level of Photoshop. I suggest learning a few tutorials from the website!!

anaconda
November 12th, 2007, 02:50 PM
I got the portable photoshop cs2 running well in wine without problems..