View Full Version : Setting up a development enviroment

November 6th, 2007, 04:57 PM
I have been using linux for about 6 months now, and I am finding myself with so many options that Im not sure how to go about something. I am going to ramble a little bit about my current setup. I apologize for the long post, but I am just trying to be thorough, so that you guys can better help me.

I have gutsy amd64 installed and running on a desktop and a laptop.

I am trying to set up an ideal development enviroment. My work primarily consists of web devel (PHP, Postgres, a little Ruby/Rails, and AJAX), but I also do some C++ and Java.

I have a huge FAT32 partition on my desktop that I use for all of my storage. I use this partition to share files with Windows on my desktop (I still have to use Flash and Photoshop every now and then) and I have it mounted at /main.
I have an almost identical setup on my laptop (dual boot, FAT partition to share files).
On both computers, I have apache running. I use symlinks from the docroot of apache to link to projects on /main, and then use http://localhost/rayswebsite/ to access my sites.

As of late, I have been using Bluefish for my programming. When I make changes on either of my computers, I have been using rsync to add the changes to the opposite computer. This has been getting tedious, and I always end up having to manually screw with the files (because I know of no better way) because my current setup is rigged, if you will. I would like to incorporate Subversion into this picture, but I will get to this later.