PDA

View Full Version : gcc compiling: segmentation fault (core dumped)

Mittens
November 2nd, 2007, 11:49 PM
Hi Everyone,

As a linux uber-beginner, I've been running Ubuntu now for a couple of months, and in the last couple of days have begun compiling c code using gcc. I'm able to compile my own c code and generate executables.

Simple executables will actually run properly, which is great, but other executables will only briefly run and then terminate with the following message:

"Segmentation fault (core dumped)"

Such errors are taking place with c code that I've previously been very productive with in the following operating environments: AIX, Sun, and Windows. For this reason, I'm wondering if there might be something basic that I'm missing regarding compilation of c code using gcc on Ubuntu.

Assuming for the moment that the code itself is fine (which I believe is the case, based on past successes in several other environments), does anyone know if there might be some typical error that linux newbies make that could cause the above type of error? Might there be some kind of simple command I could enter to verify that my gcc install (including all libraries) is fully operational? I compile simply by typing "gcc xxxxx.c -lm" - might there be another modifier I need to add to ensure proper compilation?

Keep in mind that I really am a linux beginner. Until recently, I've clung most tightly to my very old Turbo C compiler (a PC compiler from the late 80's!) to generate executables for my personal scientific computing, but feel I need to move on (for one thing, array sizes seem to be incredibly limited in Turbo C).

Thanks,

Mittens

P.S.

FYI: Running gdb on a particular program that I've tested extensively in the past on other operating systems and hardware yields the following at the point of error:

"Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0xb7e0672d in fclose () from /lib/tls/i686/cmov/libc.so.6"