PDA

View Full Version : acroread 8, beamer and movies

fmytreberg
October 26th, 2007, 09:54 PM
I am a physics professor and use LateX-beamer with Acrobat Reader for presentations. Previously (until gusty) I could customize how my movies played in Acrobat Reader by changing the ~/.mailcap file. For example, this is the relevant feisty ~/.mailcap entry.

video/*; mplayer -fps 20 -loop 0 -fixed-vo -vo x11 '%s'

I upgraded my laptop to gutsy recently, and thus also upgraded to acroread 8.1.1 from the Medibuntu repos. Now, when I try to open a movie in Acrobat Reader it no longer uses MPlayer with the options specified in the ~/.mailcap file. In fact, I cannot figure out how to change the default player and options for acroread. Did Acrobat Reader start looking elsewhere for mime types? If so, where is it looking? Any thoughts about how to solve this issue would be greatly appreciated.

-Marty

hugmenot
October 27th, 2007, 02:08 AM
They had the ingenious idea to make RealPlayer handle the media types in AR8.
Unfortunately RealPlayer doesn't ship with any useful format support. .avi, .mpg, .wmv and .mov all cannot be played with it.

There's a support forum at adobe.com. They have quite a bunch of Indian hackers working on it, and they seem quite responsive.
You might want to add your thought to this thread if you fell like it:
http://www.adobeforums.com/webx/.3bca21c1

fmytreberg
October 29th, 2007, 03:28 PM
Thanks hugmenot, that is a useful link. From reading another post http://www.adobeforums.com/webx/.3bc2ff18/1 it appears that, in the absence of RealPlayer, it uses Nautilus to make MIME decisions. This will make it difficult to use command line options. I may just need to try installing RealPlayer and then embedding the movies.

-Marty

hugmenot
October 29th, 2007, 05:46 PM
Then please report afterwards, which type of movie you were able to embed and play. I'm really interested.

fmytreberg
October 30th, 2007, 05:17 PM