PDA

View Full Version : cubert.itri.brighton.ac.uk entry in mySQL privileges database



uconnkoala
October 24th, 2007, 10:27 PM
So I just set up my new Mythbuntu 7.10 box, and installed phpmyadmin

I check out the privileges page, and see an entry that looks like this:


root
cubert.itri.brighton.ac.uk
No
ALL PRIVILEGES
No



Does that strike anybody else as being a little odd ?

superm1
October 24th, 2007, 10:35 PM
This is inevitably a consequence from the machine it was built on. It appears to have been overlooked on our parts. Can you please file a bug on this?

uconnkoala
October 24th, 2007, 10:40 PM
sure - the Red Sox are playing tonight, but hopefully I'll get around to it soon


just making sure it wasn't a security breach or something, since it required no password for access

that red No always makes my toes curl a little bit

superm1
October 24th, 2007, 10:41 PM
Yeah, i double checked and that is our amd64 build host. Feel free to delete that entry.

pasta514
November 13th, 2007, 06:27 PM
could you be so kind as to give the instruction on how to delete it?

TIA

uconnkoala
November 13th, 2007, 06:34 PM
I just used phpmyadmin to delete the row from the Privileges screen

Command line SQL is just so messy :)

pasta514
November 13th, 2007, 06:40 PM
oh dear, another tool to install and learn. Was hoping to not have to do that :(

Sounds to me like not a security risk?

uopjohnson
November 13th, 2007, 07:57 PM
I think the sql would be:

REVOKE ALL PRIVILEGES, GRANT OPTION FROM 'root'@'cubert.itri.brighton.ac.uk'

It is a security risk if you have allowed access to your mysql install from the internet and someone from cubert.itri.brighton.ac.uk decides they don't like you.

uconnkoala
November 13th, 2007, 09:55 PM
definitely learn about phpmyadmin after you have mastered command line SQL

it makes working with mySQL so much easier


and yeah, its not a huge security risk, but its enough of one (no root password) that the loophole should be closed

your mySQL shouldn't be open to the Internet anyways, and I don't believe it is by default

pasta514
November 13th, 2007, 10:49 PM
definitely learn about phpmyadmin after you have mastered command line SQL

it makes working with mySQL so much easier

I was hoping to not learn mySQL at all.

uopjohnson
November 14th, 2007, 12:28 AM
I was hoping to not learn mySQL at all.
How is that fun? :)
You should probably go ahead and install phpmyadmin. I'm sure there is plenty of help in the main forum for that.