PDA

View Full Version : I'm not impressed

yachp
October 19th, 2007, 09:32 PM
I have been using ubuntu as my primary os for quite a while. I am not a techie but I am not a totally inept either when it comes to futzing with computers.

I tried to upgrade and I could not boot into the desktop. It died while trying to deal with the boot up scripts. So I ended up losing the data in my linux partition.

I figured if I downloaded the CD and tried from scratch I would have better luck. So much for that idea.

I then tried Xubuntu. Well at least I got into the desktop this time. But I couldn't get the internet to work even though all the internet connection information was there.

As I have noticed many other people have had problems with installation. Clearly it was not ready to be released.

How is this any way to encourage people to migrate to linux? I use linux every day and I am not amused that I essentially wasted two days and in the end I have to go back to the old version of ubuntu.

thewolf32
October 19th, 2007, 09:44 PM
CLEARLY wasn't ready to be released. My god, I think they'll have to release a SECOND EDITION of gutsy, i'm not joking.

PrinceArithon
October 19th, 2007, 09:49 PM
I wouldn't worry so much about it guys. It will all get fixed as usual. Just...it might take until monday...

I am starting to think though...there were a lot of problems with the 6.10 upgrade as well...maybe it's just the .10 upgrade curse or something?? lol

Still to be honest, everything will be up and fixed real soon, I have faith in the developers and the others.

Aaron

arctic
October 19th, 2007, 09:59 PM
Still to be honest, everything will be up and fixed real soon, I have faith in the developers and the others.

Aaron
I guess that won't help those people who just borked their systems. ;)

jon_gunnar
October 19th, 2007, 10:03 PM
I wouldn't worry so much about it guys. It will all get fixed as usual. Just...it might take until monday...