PDA

View Full Version : Computer Engineering or Science Degree?

beanzapper
October 19th, 2007, 02:26 AM
So, I'm in my last year of high school and looking into college majors. I was originally planning to enroll in an AF ROTC program, but things have changed a bit; I've decided to either get a degree in computer science or computer engineering. Computer engineering appears to be more hardware oriented vs. computer science being software oriented.

My question is, which degree would be more useful than the other farther down the road, and what can I expect from each degree in terms of careers?

-Suggestions appreciated,
beanzapper

D-EJ915
October 19th, 2007, 02:38 AM
If you want to do a ridiculous amount of circuit design or seem to love differential equations and calculus for some reason go with Computer Engineering. That being said, the coursework for engineering is definitely tougher. Careers...ah...well typically CS dudes just program whereas ECE's make chips and stuff, so whatever you fancy yourself doing then go for it. Actually making chips is a blast but to get there is very rough, engineering courses definitely weed people out.

beanzapper
October 19th, 2007, 02:50 AM
If you want to do a ridiculous amount of circuit design or seem to love differential equations and calculus for some reason go with Computer Engineering. That being said, the coursework for engineering is definitely tougher. Careers...ah...well typically CS dudes just program whereas ECE's make chips and stuff, so whatever you fancy yourself doing then go for it. Actually making chips is a blast but to get there is very rough, engineering courses definitely weed people out.
Software and program designing is what really interests me - that's the main reason I'm fooling around with Ubuntu :). It appears the CS degree is best for me...

Andrewie
November 17th, 2007, 08:43 PM
if you don't like one you can always transfer into another

happysmileman
November 17th, 2007, 08:49 PM