PDA

View Full Version : Morrowind Error

MMalen
October 3rd, 2007, 03:28 PM
Ok I've installed Morrowind on my laptop, and I know how to run it now. But everytime I start it up I get this error.

Music Error: Can not play file. Data Files/Music/Special/morrowindtitle.mp3

the only option is to click ok. I've read quite a few posts on this but none of them really have any solution for it. If anybody that had this problem knows how to fix it please let me know here. I don't want to get rid of the music files. There must be a way to make them run. Is there some patch somewhere you need?

--Mass--

TidusBlade
October 3rd, 2007, 03:30 PM
Im not an expert or anything but Im guessing the file isint there so maybe try finding it on the CD or maybe it's renamed or something, just a thought :D

MMalen
October 3rd, 2007, 03:49 PM
No, that's not it. I just found this solution on the wine website:

Music has to be erased from Data Files/Music prior running the game (required only for Wine < 0.9.36).
When game ask about mp3 files, press Esc.

In winecfg set vertex shader mode to hardware.
In winecfg set winver=win98 for best application behavior.

Make following changes in Morrowind.ini file:

;; Reduce CPU load
MaxFPS=40

;; Reduce crashes
SkipProgramFlows=1
DontThreadLoad=1

;; Improve loading times
;; RAM specific options (1/4 of total RAM for interior, 3/4 for exterior)
;; Examples for 1GB RAM machine
Interior Cell Buffer=256
Exterior Cell Buffer=768

You can get much better water rendering and rid of red inventory person artifacts using 3D acceleration:

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wine\Direct3D]
"OffscreenRenderingMode"="fbo"
"UseGLSL"="enabled"
"VideoMemorySize"="128"