PDA

View Full Version : Function variables Perl

Dylock
September 18th, 2007, 09:20 PM
Howdy, anyone know of a way to retain a variable inside a function without declaring the variable outside the function

ex

&foo;
&foo;

sub foo
{
$x++;
}
assume that $x has an initial value
I want the second function call to have the value of $x from the previous function call

Suggestions?

mssever
September 19th, 2007, 06:24 AM
I'm not a Perl programmer, so I might be off a bit, but why not just return x in your function?

(You might like Ruby's blocks, which don't have this problem.)

bunker
September 19th, 2007, 12:05 PM
You're looking for a static type, but perl doesn't have it. Here is a way of getting the same effect:

BEGIN {
my $x = 1;
sub function {
return $x++;
}
}

Who said perl doesn't make sense!

Dylock
September 19th, 2007, 02:20 PM
yea i still haven't understood blocks yet in perl, do you count the BEGIN block as a function, or how is it invoked? Automatically when you call the function ?

bunker
September 19th, 2007, 06:25 PM
The blocks just denote a scope. The 'my' keyword says that a variable is part of that scope. By nesting the function in that way, you get access to the stuff in the parent scope. A lot of languages have ways of denoting scope other than functions and control constructs, but they're not used very often - and I don't know of any that you use like this other than perl ;).

Here's an example of using scopes with C - it might make things clearer for you:

#include <stdio.h>

int main() {
int a = 1;
{ /* start a scope */
int b = 2;
printf("A is: %d\n", a); // works - a is declared in the parent scope
printf("B is: %d\n", b); // works
} /* .. and then end it */
// printf("A is: %d\n", b); // Won't compile; complains b is not declared
return 0;
}

Dylock
September 19th, 2007, 06:27 PM
oh alright i get it now, so by declaring a function inside a block it can access any variables inside the block.

thats pretty cool, exactly what i want to happen.