PDA

View Full Version : development environments

frenchcr
September 15th, 2007, 11:51 PM
ive been learning C, C++ and Perl for about 6 months now, so im still new to programming.

I usually just use kate text editor to write my scripts in as it uses good colours, has a tab bar extension and terminal plugin.

Are there any development environments that are good to use? What are they and whats the difference between using a text editor and command line to these special environment apps ??

CptPicard
September 15th, 2007, 11:57 PM
Don't know about Perl, but for C/C++ look Eclipse's CDT, KDevelop, Anjuta, Code::Blocks. IDEs add to your productivity by making it easier to manage your project's source, and some of their editors also have nice additional features such as code completion...

Especially in C/C++, often I find that I spend more time fighting the IDE than actually accomplishing things but YMMV :)

frenchcr
September 16th, 2007, 12:10 PM
Thanks!

Eclipse's CDT, KDevelop, Anjuta, Code::Blocks

Any others, anyone?

Or any preferences between these. Im just looking for one good one to stick with.

Code completion you said...does this really work...anyone used it before and can give feedback on how helpful.

ryno519
September 16th, 2007, 01:11 PM
Thanks!

Any others, anyone?

Or any preferences between these. Im just looking for one good one to stick with.

Code completion you said...does this really work...anyone used it before and can give feedback on how helpful.

I prefer Code::Blocks myself. It has a nice clean interface, code completion/suggestion, templates and it's nice and simple. The only thing that might be considered bad about it compared to other GNU/Linux C/C++ IDE's is it doesn't produce its own makefile. I prefer to produce them myself, however, so it's not a big deal for me.