PDA

View Full Version : Oblivion in Ubuntu (Fiesty) under Wine

darthlunchbox42
September 14th, 2007, 08:00 PM
I'm very new to Ubuntu, I just installed it yesterday, and I have been screwing around with it since then, so when I say that I have no idea what I'm doing in any way, believe me. In relation to Ubuntu, I'm still learning how to breath. I realize that there have been a few thread over the same subject as this, but I found none that helped with my specific problems.

However, I just came upon this (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=349764) information about playing Oblivion in Ubuntu with Wine, and Oblivion being one of my favorite games, I decided to give it a go. I figured parts of it out, but I ran into some trouble with it. Below, I've quoted which parts I'm having trouble with and a short description of my troubles. If anyone could help or point me in the right direction, that would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Desktop Integration tab.

Here you should make a folder as your 'Windows folder base' and populate it. I use ~/Documents/Windows/. After you make these folders match them up in this interface, since Oblivion follows the logo requirements and uses a 'My Games' folder.

mkdir -p ~/Documents/Windows/{Desktop,Documents,Pictures,Music,Video}

When I put the mkdir code into the terminal and press enter, nothing happens. No folder is created or anything like that.

Drives tab.

Add a new drive for example 'D:' and click Show Advanced to set it as a CDROM drive. Browse to the mount point for your Oblivion DVD or loopback image. In my example it's '/opt/games/Windows/CDROM/'.

If you have the space I'd suggest copying your Oblivion DVD to a disk image, so you can keep it in your Collector's box. You all bought the Collector's Edition didn't you? Well you should it has some cool stuff. Here's a handy, dandy bash script to mount your Oblivion.iso.

#!/bin/sh
ISO=/opt/iso/Oblivion.iso
sudo mount -o loop -t iso9660 $ISO /opt/games/Windows/CDROM/