PDA

View Full Version : Running dialang on Linux... or developing our own port?

ZombiekE
September 13th, 2007, 03:00 PM
Hello,

I am a language student and teacher and I am concerned about the lack of software to evaluate your language level in xBuntu. There's a nice application called Dialang (http://dialang.org) which evaluates your proficiency in 14 different European languages. This software, which is free, is very used at universities and other language centers. I think it gives a rather good assessment about language proficiency. However it's not available for Linux.

I've tried installing and running it using Wine. However, although it was installed properly, it won't work. Has any of you had any better experience in this? I think this program, or something similar should be available, especially for Edubuntu. Do you think there could be a way to make some pressure on them to develop it for Linux? Could we maybe get their code or all their tests and workings and make our own Dialang? I would love to collaborate in this, since it's my field. I think it's important to have this in Edubuntu, otherwise there's yet another thing tying us to Microsoft Windows in educational institutions.

Best regards,

Fernán

mcarro
October 7th, 2007, 10:08 PM
Fernán,

I have stumbled upon the same problem. I tried installing it under Wine and CrossOver (admittedly, no the latest version) to no avail. However, it should not be that difficult. It is just an executable which should presumably launch a (set of) java programs, for which there are open source implementations of virtual machines.

My question, now, would be to know what does the Windows executable exactly do.

ZombiekE
October 7th, 2007, 11:52 PM
Yeah, that would be a great step. Let's hope somebody can help us!

Somebody posted this question as well in Yahoo! Answers a long time before I posted it here.

PeterSchneider
January 20th, 2009, 11:39 PM
Hello,