PDA

View Full Version : HOWTO: PostGIS on Fiesty i386

zedmaster
August 19th, 2007, 05:03 AM
Hey guys! I've been struggling with an installation of UbuntuGIS for ages now. The UbuntuGIS wiki would have us believe you merely need to install the packages. Most of the directions the wiki points to are for older versions of Ubuntu, other versions of Linux, older versions of the packages, and (yippie) building from source. I had all kinds of fun trying to trudge through this one. Anyway, just now, I was able to get it all running, and import a shapefile into PostGIS. This is like an alpha HOWTO that I wanted to share with you all.

Couple points: I'm not an expert on GIS, or Linux. If you feel that I could have written the commands more simply, or totally missed touching on some important points, PLEASE tell me so I can improve it. If you have other thoughts, PLEASE tell me. I want your thoughts! Finally, please forgive me document formating, as I just whipped this up.

HOWTO: Install Postgresql and PostGIS on Fiesty 7.04

This was done on a fresh install of Fiesty 32-bit i386 version, it is possible that these instructions apply to other distributions, but do NOT assume that. I am new to GIS on Linux, so hopefully this HOWTO will be helpful for other newbies.

POSTGIS and posgresql are basically going to work hand in hand on your GIS workstation. Basically postgresql is a type of SQL database. It may not be especially important to have a deep understanding of postgresql to run GIS, as long as you can get it to run. If you want to know more, check out postgresql.org. I've used version 8.1 of postgresql, this is not the latest version, but it is the UbuntuGIS spec. DO NOT install version 8.0, as there are major differences. You would probably have good luck using 8.2, but that's outside the scope of this document.

The actual package for postgis is called 'postgis.' There is also a package that spatially enables the postgresql server called postgresql-8.1-postgis.