PDA

View Full Version : Endnote help!!?? Please help!

_Poincare
July 24th, 2007, 03:22 PM
Hello,

I have searched the forums and read others' comments but none seem to be lucid. First, I am a PhD student who switched to Ubuntu this summer. I am happy, for the most part, with the performance and organization of Ubuntu. HOWEVER, being a dissertator, I need to write several journal articles and also (hopefuly) complete my dissertation on time. My format is APA 5th edition and my problem is that I have been dual booting into Windows since Endnote and Office do not work well under WINE, Crossover Office, QEMU, or VMWare. I have tried... please don't tell me to just use it through these virtualizations.

I am looking for an alternative to Endnote which will INTEGRATE nicely with Open Office. Here is what I have tried so far:

Bibus: Does not support formating bibliographies in APA style and I am not computer/programming literate enough to even figure out how to make a new "style". :(

Open Office's Bibliography feature: This just plain sucks and isn't even usable as far as I am concerned.

Zotero: Still doesn't come close to having the FLEXIBILITY that I need and does not adequately support the APA 5th Ed. format.

LaTex/BibTex: WTF is this? As a non-computer-science/programming user, I can't even begin to understand how to use this crap. I can't even begin to understand how to format, convert, format again and then import?? Why can't linux software be easy to use?

Tellico: Does not support the flexibility I need AND does not support APA 5th.

RefDB: I can't begin to use it's "queries" usefully and it does not have anywhere near the flexibility of Endnote. What a mess...:confused:

Pybliographer: Does not format bibliographies. No functionality.