PDA

View Full Version : HELP: Problem Installing MTGO with Cedega or Wine (Magic the Gathering Online)

jasonkx
July 11th, 2007, 07:08 PM
Hi Guys, I've intalled Linux now and i'm a Newbie user, but some questions i got on net , but this one its making me crazy ^^
I installed Cedega on my linux and tryed to install Magic The gathering Online but when i do i allways get this error, even on Wine
http://img67.imageshack.us/img67/2906/capturadatelarh6.png

Anyone knows how i can get this error off?
Or where i got to isntall the windows fonts ??

plz help me!!
i dont wanna go back to windows ^^

cogadh
July 11th, 2007, 07:12 PM
Start by installing the msttcorefonts package. Run this in a terminal:

sudo apt-get install msttcorefonts
However, according to the Wine AppDB, the game has had problems with fonts in the past, but it doesn't have any test data beyond Win 0.9.17:
http://appdb.winehq.org/appview.php?iVersionId=4447
Even with the MS fonts installed, you may still have problems.

jasonkx
July 11th, 2007, 07:22 PM
I intalled the sudo apt-get install msttcorefonts but still getting the same error on Cedega.
i know the font erros but the initial font error i know that its not a problem cause on Cedega GameDB MTGO its there with Screen SHoots

cogadh
July 11th, 2007, 07:31 PM
There is a post on that AppDB page that seems to address this:

I tried to install mtgo and I got this error "Failed to create font resource sserife.fot fontname sserife.fon". I went to my .wine folder and noticed that the fonts folder (windows fonts) was empty, so I made a copy of a ttf file (ms sans serif.ttf) from a computer with windows xp installed. I placed 2 copies into my fonts folder (wine folder) and renamed each one with the name of the files that appeared in the error message (including the extension fot and fon).
It seems that will at least get you past the error. If you don't have access to a Windows XP machine to copy the font files from, you may be able to find them online.

jasonkx