PDA

View Full Version : only one software management tool to run at same time problem

mjp29
June 20th, 2007, 07:21 AM
when telling a file to execute

i get a message that only one software management tool to run at the same time

and to please close other applications like [e.g.] update manager, aptitude, synaptic first

how do I close these other applications that I can't see running to make my file execute my update?

wormser
June 20th, 2007, 07:33 AM
only one software updater/installer can run at a time. I believe this is because it access a data base and it only allows one user so the DB does not get messed up. Does this happen all the time? When did it start? You can go into System> Administration> System Monitor and look to see if there are any of those programs running. Also try rebooting.

mjp29
June 20th, 2007, 07:42 AM
I don't know if it happens all the time, I am new to ubuntu

But following your instructiions, the only thing in system>administration>system monitor that is being used is "gnome-system-monitor" by the system.

I have rebooted and did it again and no success.

wormser
June 20th, 2007, 07:58 AM
Can you give a step by step directions on what you are doing. This will help us help you.

theracerdude
October 24th, 2007, 03:17 PM
i'm having the same problem it happens when ever i try to install limewire. i cancelled it the first time and i think that maybe why.

mjp29
September 21st, 2009, 12:36 AM
Downloaded Limewire and initial attempt to install stalled for over an hour.

Rebooted and downloaded again and now get this message that only one software tool allowed to run at the same time when trying to install.

Any ideas what's going bezerk here?

error message also suggests closing update manager, synaptic, or aptitude - but how can I even tell if one of those is running.

Paqman
September 21st, 2009, 12:38 AM