PDA

View Full Version : Recording audio from dosbox



georgecm3
May 30th, 2007, 02:16 AM
Is there a way I could record the music from a game that is being played in dosbox?

BoyOfDestiny
May 30th, 2007, 02:51 AM
Is there a way I could record the music from a game that is being played in dosbox?

Yes,

From the dosbox readme (type man dosbox)

CTRL-F6 Start/Stop recording sound output to a wave file.

CTRL-ALT-F7 Start/Stop recording of OPL commands.

CTRL-ALT-F8 Start/Stop the recording of raw MIDI commands.

Make sure to define a location for the captures to go to (here is mine in my dosbox.conf)

[dosbox]
# language -- Select another language file.
# memsize -- Amount of memory dosbox has in megabytes.
# machine -- The type of machine tries to emulate:hercules,cga,tandy,pcjr,vga.
# captures -- Directory where things like wave,midi,screenshot get captured.

language=
machine=vga
captures=/home/yourusername/whateverfolder
memsize=16

It will store screencaps, audio rips etc there.

spotsnz
January 7th, 2012, 01:43 AM
How do I edit this dosbox.conf?

I went to places>search for files, and searched for dosbox.conf and it didn't find it (it returned immediately though, doesn't seem like it looked for it).

solved:

$ cd ~/.dosbox/

Artificial Intelligence
January 7th, 2012, 03:08 PM
Necromancing, thread closed.