PDA

View Full Version : New guy learn Ruby in Eclipse

tc101
May 8th, 2007, 05:23 PM
I am just learning Ruby. I am a dot net programmer and have never used Eclipse or Java, just VB dot net.

I set up Eclipse to work with ruby. I created a ruby project with one file in it. The file contains one line:

"Hello World"

I ran it and I get this message:

:in `slice': no implicit conversion from nil to integer (TypeError)

What am I doing wrong?

finer recliner
May 8th, 2007, 05:36 PM
use the keyword "puts" (print a string to the terminal followed by a newline char)

or use "print" for normal print functionality

puts "hello world"
print "hello world \n"

i <3 ruby
i hope you like it too ;)

tc101
May 8th, 2007, 06:53 PM
I still get the same error. Do I have to put the code

puts "hello world"

inside a module or a class? I just have that one line of code in the file.

Here is everything I see in the console

/home/tomcarr/../../../home/tomcarr/.eclipse/org.eclipse.sdk.ide/updates/eclipse/plugins/org.rubypeople.rdt.testunit_0.9.0.200704141430RC1/ruby/RemoteTestRunner.rb:281:in `slice': no implicit conversion from nil to integer (TypeError)
from /home/tomcarr/../../../home/tomcarr/.eclipse/org.eclipse.sdk.ide/updates/eclipse/plugins/org.rubypeople.rdt.testunit_0.9.0.200704141430RC1/ruby/RemoteTestRunner.rb:281

skeeterbug
May 8th, 2007, 07:07 PM
I still get the same error. Do I have to put the code

puts "hello world"

inside a module or a class? I just have that one line of code in the file.

Here is everything I see in the console

/home/tomcarr/../../../home/tomcarr/.eclipse/org.eclipse.sdk.ide/updates/eclipse/plugins/org.rubypeople.rdt.testunit_0.9.0.200704141430RC1/ruby/RemoteTestRunner.rb:281:in `slice': no implicit conversion from nil to integer (TypeError)
from /home/tomcarr/../../../home/tomcarr/.eclipse/org.eclipse.sdk.ide/updates/eclipse/plugins/org.rubypeople.rdt.testunit_0.9.0.200704141430RC1/ruby/RemoteTestRunner.rb:281