PDA

View Full Version : T-Bird major issue



shane2peru
April 30th, 2007, 05:59 PM
Ok, I installed TBird using the script. I didn't have it installed. However in the past two days of running it, I had one serious crash in that was unrecoverable. They system hung up and refused to respond. I had tried to send an email and it didn't go (Thunderbird had been open for quite some time in the background, just running quietly). Not even ctrl-alt-backspace did the trick had to hold the power button to kill everything. Today after Thunderbird was open for a few hours in the background, everything got terrible slow I mean the mouse didn't even respond quickly. After about 30 minutes of sloooooow work, I was able to get alt-f2 to respond and killed mozilla-thunderbird-bin after about 30 seconds everything was running smoothly again. The only changes I have made is1. Installed ThunderBird 2. Got OOO quickstart to startup and stay in the taskbar. So I'm linking this problem to Thunderbird. Going to uninstall and install the package in the repos to confirm if this is an outside package problem, or another problem on my system. Wanted to post it here in case anyone else is experiencing this problem.

Shane

shane2peru
April 30th, 2007, 06:34 PM
Ok, I installed TBird using the script. I didn't have it installed. However in the past two days of running it, I had one serious crash in that was unrecoverable. They system hung up and refused to respond. I had tried to send an email and it didn't go (Thunderbird had been open for quite some time in the background, just running quietly). Not even ctrl-alt-backspace did the trick had to hold the power button to kill everything. Today after Thunderbird was open for a few hours in the background, everything got terrible slow I mean the mouse didn't even respond quickly. After about 30 minutes of sloooooow work, I was able to get alt-f2 to respond and killed mozilla-thunderbird-bin after about 30 seconds everything was running smoothly again. The only changes I have made is1. Installed ThunderBird 2. Got OOO quickstart to startup and stay in the taskbar. So I'm linking this problem to Thunderbird. Going to uninstall and install the package in the repos to confirm if this is an outside package problem, or another problem on my system. Wanted to post it here in case anyone else is experiencing this problem.

Shane

Edit Ok, this is not good. I just found out that only version 1.5 is in the repos and this script installed version 2, so now all my info is not available. HELP. This is not good. I know, I should have read the stickies before. I guess I will re-install the script and just not leave T-Bird running very long. This is a slight problem. :)

Edit: I meant to edit the last post, not quote myself. :)

nanotube
April 30th, 2007, 07:04 PM
mm, well, this would be a very difficult problem to troubleshoot...
you're the first to report this, and i personally have been running tb2, as installed by the script, without any issues.
try various things, like compacting all your folders, removing automatic email checking (see if it's maybe one of your mail servers that is having issues and giving TB problems)...

shane2peru
May 1st, 2007, 02:35 AM
mm, well, this would be a very difficult problem to troubleshoot...
you're the first to report this, and i personally have been running tb2, as installed by the script, without any issues.
try various things, like compacting all your folders, removing automatic email checking (see if it's maybe one of your mail servers that is having issues and giving TB problems)...

Ok, I'm wondering now if this is a fluke, and the problem wasn't TB. I also had a hang up with FireFox running. I'm wondering if it isn't 1. The Quickstart thing for OOO (I disabled it) or 2. Beagle Either way I have no real way of troubleshooting short of trial and error. I guess that is what I will have to do. It is looking like it isn't TB after all, sorry for the false alarm. It is also good to know that you have run this a while and not had problems with it. Thanks for the info.

Shane

nanotube
May 1st, 2007, 03:06 AM
Ok, I'm wondering now if this is a fluke, and the problem wasn't TB. I also had a hang up with FireFox running. I'm wondering if it isn't 1. The Quickstart thing for OOO (I disabled it) or 2. Beagle Either way I have no real way of troubleshooting short of trial and error. I guess that is what I will have to do. It is looking like it isn't TB after all, sorry for the false alarm. It is also good to know that you have run this a while and not had problems with it. Thanks for the info.

Shane

ok, well, please post back here if you do end up figuring out what it was. :)

shane2peru
May 1st, 2007, 04:32 AM
ok, well, please post back here if you do end up figuring out what it was. :)

Will do. I'm thinking that it is Beagle giving me problems. I started the daemon, and it really brought my computer to a crawling speed.

Shane

shane2peru
May 2nd, 2007, 03:42 AM
Ok, the issue seems as though it was my swap was not mounted. At least that is what happened to me today same issue. Did a dmesg tail thing, and it showed I had no swap space left. I checked with gparted and swap was not mounted. I mounted it, but I'm not sure why it wasn't mounted, and how I can keep that from happening again.

Shane

nanotube
May 2nd, 2007, 04:32 AM
Ok, the issue seems as though it was my swap was not mounted. At least that is what happened to me today same issue. Did a dmesg tail thing, and it showed I had no swap space left. I checked with gparted and swap was not mounted. I mounted it, but I'm not sure why it wasn't mounted, and how I can keep that from happening again.

Shane

well, is it listed in your /etc/fstab?

shane2peru
May 2nd, 2007, 02:32 PM
well, is it listed in your /etc/fstab?

# /dev/sda3
UUID=366a229d-bf5b-4292-96ae-261ec4f8c9d9 none swap sw

This is from my fstab, so it is there. Do you know how I list the UUID number to see if it is correct? I don't quite understand this UUID number stuff, and am not really convinced it is better.

Shane

nanotube
May 2nd, 2007, 03:00 PM
# /dev/sda3
UUID=366a229d-bf5b-4292-96ae-261ec4f8c9d9 none swap sw

This is from my fstab, so it is there. Do you know how I list the UUID number to see if it is correct? I don't quite understand this UUID number stuff, and am not really convinced it is better.

Shane

no, i don't know anything about uuid numbers... why don't you just try using the /dev/whatever instead, and see if that helps?

first, run

sudo fdisk -l
Password:

Disk /dev/hdc: 40.0 GB, 40007761920 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4864 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdc1 * 1 1275 10241406 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hdc2 2494 4863 19037025 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hdc3 1276 2493 9783585 83 Linux
/dev/hdc5 2551 4863 18579141 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hdc6 2494 2550 457789+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris


notice in the output one of the partitions says "linux swap" - that's the one you want. for me, it's hdc6. so then you would make your fstab line look like:

/dev/hdc6 none swap sw 0 0

try that...

shane2peru
May 2nd, 2007, 06:47 PM
no, i don't know anything about uuid numbers... why don't you just try using the /dev/whatever instead, and see if that helps?

first, run

sudo fdisk -l
Password:

Disk /dev/hdc: 40.0 GB, 40007761920 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4864 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdc1 * 1 1275 10241406 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hdc2 2494 4863 19037025 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hdc3 1276 2493 9783585 83 Linux
/dev/hdc5 2551 4863 18579141 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hdc6 2494 2550 457789+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris


notice in the output one of the partitions says "linux swap" - that's the one you want. for me, it's hdc6. so then you would make your fstab line look like:

/dev/hdc6 none swap sw 0 0

try that...

OK, did that, and that seemed to fix things. Thanks.

Shane

nanotube
May 2nd, 2007, 07:06 PM
OK, did that, and that seemed to fix things. Thanks.

Shane

cool. :)