PDA

View Full Version : Which c/c++ I should use?

evagelos
April 9th, 2007, 07:16 PM
Hi,
I am new in Linux, whick c++ i should learn, and which gui and database addons i should use? I am using Visual Studio. Thanks

rufius
April 9th, 2007, 07:47 PM
There's really only 1 C++ so to speak but several diff compilers. Available that I see are gcc-3.3, gcc-3.4, and gcc-4.1. Really they're just updates to eachother, most code should work fine in each without any changes.

As far as gui and database addons, I'm assuming you mean gui toolkits and database toolkits. In that case, if you're sticking to Ubuntu (using Gnome) and this software is mostly for you, then go with the GTK2 toolkit, and then use whatever database you like (ie: MySQL, Postgresql, SQLite). I personally don't work at all with gui's but I do use sqlite mostly for my programs when I need a database.

If you need an IDE, I would look into Anjuta.

pmasiar
April 9th, 2007, 07:48 PM
which kind of apps do you want to write? C/C++ make sense in deep infrastructure, but not as much at application development level.

evagelos
April 9th, 2007, 08:44 PM
which kind of apps do you want to write? C/C++ make sense in deep infrastructure, but not as much at application development level.

MOsty database application development

Thenk you

pmasiar
April 9th, 2007, 09:37 PM
Try higher level, dynamically typed languages like Python or Ruby - see forum sticky.

Most people agree that using HLL with automatic memory management and flexible typing, your productivity will increase substantially without much effect on speed of the resulting program, because most time is spent anyway at SQL connection/query.

Wybiral
April 9th, 2007, 09:40 PM
Try higher level, dynamically typed languages like Python or Ruby - see forum sticky.