PDA

View Full Version : c++ Quicksort Implementation Error

fabulous_mr_e
April 2nd, 2007, 10:21 AM
Hello there, I'm fairly new to c++ programming and am trying to implement a quicksort routine I've adapted from Java.
The swap function works fine when run from the main function, but when I try to use it within the quicksort function it returns the folllowing error:

error: no matching function for call to ‘swap(int*&, int&, int&)’

I assume this is a problem with the pointers used as arguments. But i'll be damned if I can work out the exact problem. If someone could have a look and tell me where I went wrong i'd very much appreciate it.

void quicksort(int[],int,int);

void quicksort(int newarray[], int start, int end)
{
int l = start;
int r = end;
int pivot = newarray[(start+end)/2];
if(start >= end) return;
while (l < r)
{
while (l<r && newarray[l] < pivot) l++;
while (l<r &&newarray[r] >= pivot) r--;
if (l < r) swap(newarray,l,r);
}
if(r<l) swap(newarray, r,l);
quicksort(newarray, start, l);
quicksort(newarray, r, end);
}

void swap(int array[], int first, int second)
{
int temp = array[first];
array[first] = array[second];
array[second] = temp;
}

int main()
{
int myArray[] = {9,4,6,8,3,1,2,7,5};
swap(myArray, 0, 1);
cout << myArray[0] << myArray[1];
quicksort(myArray, 0, 8);
return 0;
}

kpatz
April 2nd, 2007, 05:39 PM
You forgot to declare the function swap at the top. Add these lines to the top of the program and then it'll compile:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

void swap(int array[], int first, int second);

However, I got a segfault in the quicksort routine, so something isn't right there yet.

hod139
April 2nd, 2007, 06:01 PM
As kpatz pointed out, there is a bug in your quicksort routine. If you want some help debugging, just post back here; I have a feeling this is a homework assignment and I don't want to paste the answer.

Also, I was wondering if I could make some general comments about the code?

kpatz
April 2nd, 2007, 06:08 PM